Dutch Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Great recipe! it turned out perfect. don't cook longer than an hr. apples were creamy because we wrapped the pie in parchment paper. Only altercation we made was adding 50% more crumb topping before baking; for a thicker top crust. delicious, i will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Love this recipe. I also split the sugar between white and brown. Add a little nutmeg in he topping. Don't use the parchment paper and the pie turns out great! I have a stoneware pie plate and it is large. I use 6-7 apples to fill the pie. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tehmamalady
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I used only 3 apples and skipped the paper bag step. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Win
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This turned out AWESOMELY!! My guests loved it. I was very glad to read the comments, because I checked my parchment paper and it was good up to 420 degrees, which was fine for 1 hour baking. This is a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by craysen
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Ive made this pie for a couple years now and it is amazing!.... the parchment makes the pie very hot so be sure to use crisp granny smiths. Also for the best taste I substitute the flour in the apple mixture with clearjel. Clearjel is a modified cornstarch used in baking and preserving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
My topping turned to mush, not crumbly at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrMccall
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I made this pie today as a break from the normal Apple pies I've made for the holidays. I added oats to the topping for that little extra texture. Also I didn't use the parchment and reduced the cooking time to 40 mins. I originally set my timer for 60 mins and just watched the pie. I took it out when the crust and topping turned a crispy golden brown. I allowed the pie to cool before cutting into it. It still came out excessively "juicy". My son says the flavor is excellent and he says its a 9/10. I haven't tried the pie yet, but it does smell wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Captain Petunia
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
next time I will skip the freezer step and just put the pie on the bottom rack of the oven. I also baked the pie and extra 20 minutes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Fantastic recipe. I can't believe this one doesn't have more reviews! I skipped the parchment paper and used pink lady apples, just because that's what I had available. Best apple pie I've ever tasted, never mind made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
The pie turned out quite OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States