Dutch Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tehmamalady
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I used only 3 apples and skipped the paper bag step. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Win
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This turned out AWESOMELY!! My guests loved it. I was very glad to read the comments, because I checked my parchment paper and it was good up to 420 degrees, which was fine for 1 hour baking. This is a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by craysen
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Ive made this pie for a couple years now and it is amazing!.... the parchment makes the pie very hot so be sure to use crisp granny smiths. Also for the best taste I substitute the flour in the apple mixture with clearjel. Clearjel is a modified cornstarch used in baking and preserving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
My topping turned to mush, not crumbly at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrMccall
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I made this pie today as a break from the normal Apple pies I've made for the holidays. I added oats to the topping for that little extra texture. Also I didn't use the parchment and reduced the cooking time to 40 mins. I originally set my timer for 60 mins and just watched the pie. I took it out when the crust and topping turned a crispy golden brown. I allowed the pie to cool before cutting into it. It still came out excessively "juicy". My son says the flavor is excellent and he says its a 9/10. I haven't tried the pie yet, but it does smell wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Captain Petunia
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
next time I will skip the freezer step and just put the pie on the bottom rack of the oven. I also baked the pie and extra 20 minutes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Fantastic recipe. I can't believe this one doesn't have more reviews! I skipped the parchment paper and used pink lady apples, just because that's what I had available. Best apple pie I've ever tasted, never mind made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
The pie turned out quite OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Really delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and baked for 45 minutes without parchment paper. Only issue was the crust edges burned. I would cover the edges with foil or reduce heat to 350 for the last 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I have made this recipe 3 times now and have had nothing but outstanding raves. I only used to make double crusted apple pies and will honestly never make another one after serving and eating this recipe! My family and friends agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Pieper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States