Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Makes too muh streusel topping (and I truly can't believe I'm saying this). The topping was very thick & flour-y. I would cut the amount of flour in the topping WAY down. THEN this pie would get 5 stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This pie was exactly what I was looking for! Extra flavorful with the mixed varieties of apples and all the spices and the streusel just tops it all off! Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
One of the best I`ve made, everyone loved it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by robert22
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I have made this recipe so many times . It is the best apple pie I have ever had. The only thing I would say is make sure you mix the apple filling and drain off the excess liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shara
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Just made this and was a hit! I added 1/2 cup chopped pecans to topping too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I love this recipe! It works really well with the No Roll Pie Crust 1 and it's simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
My family requests this pie on numerous occasions...the most recent being a pregnancy craving of my daughter. I use A full 3 pounds of Granny Smith apples. I put the prepared and sliced apples along with 3 Tbsp butter in a sauté pan and cook while stirring well for about 7 min. Just until they start to soften up. I then combine in a separate bowl the 2/3 C white sugar w 1/3 C brown sugar, 4 Tbsp white flour, 1 and 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 3/8 tsp nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp allspice. Stir together well. Dump this combination over the apples in the sauté pan with the heat off. Stir well, and let sit like this while you brush prepared pie crust with beaten egg whites and bake for 5 min in a 400 degree oven. When it comes out of the oven, I raise the oven temp to 425, fill the crust with the apple mixture, then place a foil shield around the crust edges to protect from over browning. Let it bake for 10 min at 425 degrees while I prepare the Streusel topping with the following: 3/4 cup flour, 3/4 cup instant oatmeal, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 cup packed brown sugar. Mix together well. Add 1/2 cup slightly softened butter. Cut in well, then I use my hands to get it mixed together well to the large crumble state. I just don't seem to be able to achieve this delicious state of large crumbles with any utensil. Remove the pie from the oven. Leaving the foil shield on the edges in place, I add the crumble topping to the pie, and lower the temp to 365 degrees for my glass plate pie, retu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Great recipe. Made a fabulous pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Very good tasty pie!! I did leave in an extra 10 minutes as one reviewer suggested & would NOT do that again. The topping got a little crunchy. Not holding that against the recipe though, that was my own fault. Good easy pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States