Dutch Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Quick, easy and delicious cake! I couldn't wait so we tasted it while still hot from oven. Next time eating with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geraldine Badger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I aet most of this myself it was sooo good. I made it in a 9x13, I didn't ave the smaller size and it came out fine. I would imagine it would be thicker in the smaller an which would have been nicer, but taste just the sme I'm sure. I didn't put the frosting on because it was so good without it. Loved the crunchy top. A friend said it was like an aple coffee cake. I can see that , only it was better than what that brings to mind. I did chop one extra aple and toss it into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This cake was fabulous, easy to make, and not too sweet. I made two changes, substituting shortening for butter and fresh vanilla bean. Delicious, thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Bernard

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I chose this cake above the others mainly because it didn't call for oil. I give it 4 stars because I made a few changes, and I just feel that 2 apples aren't enough. I used butter instead of shortening, 1/2 c brown sugar and 1/2 c white sugar, used whole wheat flour, added cinnamon to the batter, and about 3 1/2 c of diced apples that I just incorporated into the batter. Then, I made a struesel (sp?) topping with brown sugar, cold butter, a little ww flour, cinnamon, and walnuts... it came out delicious, with a nice crunch on top. Great for dessert or with coffee! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Unfortunately, the recipe contains a serious mistake. It is not 1 tablespoon of baking powder that should be used -this renders the cake inedible- it should presumably be 1 teaspoon. It would be a very good idea to correct this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Love this recipe! This is a must have in my house once the apples are ready for picking at our nearby orchards here in Wisconsin! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I have been looking for this recipe for awhile after trying a similiar cake a few years ago. I just used 1/2 cup butter instead of shortening but other than that just followed the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I made this last night, I didn't have shortening, so I used margarine, used 1/4 c. brown sugar and the rest splenda instead of sugar and almond flavoring because I had no vanilla. I also used splenda on the top with cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger. It was really good but the next time I will add applesauce and apple to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This cake is awesome. I have made it twice. I have used a combination of different flours and it comes out light, moist, and delicious. I add soaked raisins and walnuts in mine. I also put a crumble topping on it. DIVINE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I thought this cake was really good. It is very moist. I added chopped apples and cinnamon and little bit of cloves to the batter and used brown sugar, instead of white. I also baked it in a bundt pan with thin slices of apples at the bottom of the pan. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States