Dutch Apple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
10 on the YUMMMM scale!! I did the following alterations to the recipe and it was great: 1. I added a cup more apples and left out the nuts. I used Ginger Gold apples and they were slightly green so it was a sweet/tart flavor. 2. I added another 1/2 recipe of dry topping ingredients and before baking I spread a fairly random pattern of a heaping 2 T. of the dry topping ingredients to the top of the batter. Then, I used a knife with the blade turned at a 45 degree angle and drew and "S" pattern all the way down, about three different times. I went deep into the batter to distribute the topping. I then added the butter to the remaining topping mix and added it to the bread half way through the cook time. This was fabulous as it added swirled topping through out the bread as well as a crunchy topping on top!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This is the first apple bread I've made from this site and it's great! Like others, I addeed 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon to the batter and added the topping after 20 minutes of baking. The topping didn't sink in and did form a crust on top. I added a little oatmeal to the strudel mixture and made a glaze from confectioner's sugar and maple syrup to go over top. Next time I think I will double the amount of apples, but the recipe is fine as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I love this bread, the first time I did it I made the topping a little to buttery so I mixed it into the dough,it was really good, the second time I made it with the topping on top as the recipe said but for some reason I didnt like it as much, so this time( the 3rd time) I mixed the topping into the dough again and its wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Avoca, Michigan, USA
Living In: Croswell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Very yummy and I did do as other reviewers and added the topping after about half the time of baking. Truly yummy bread that was very fragant while baking - almost smells like apple pie. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MVG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Delicious and simple. Except for the buttermilk, most of these ingredients are usually on hand. So I just added about a half teaspoon of vinegar to the milk and it worked out as well. I took the reviewer's advice who suggested putting the topping on half way through the bake time. No sinking at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
delicious! i doubled the streusel as some suggested, great idea. who doesn't love struesel!! i also doubled the apples to 2 cups. we used winesaps. worked out great. i added 1 teas. vietnamese cinnamon to the batter. soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa demayo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Oh my goodness! This is an amazing recipe! The batter tastes like cookie dough! The finished product is beautiful! I put the topping on half way through the baking and it did not sink to the middle. I drizzled the top with a light powdered sugar glaze. Looks amazing, tastes amazing. Sold out of them at a recent bakesale, and have also made several loaves as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Absolutely gorgeous loaf of bread, and it tastes fantastic! This made a generous 9x5 loaf. I added just pinch of cinnamon to the batter. I made the glaze for the top as another reviewer suggested. I added a splash of maple flavoring to the glaze, which I think enhanced the bread. I added just a little oatmeal to the streusel to give it a little crunch. Make sure your streusel is applied in small pieces to prevent it from sinking. Try this recipe! You will be delighted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This bread is amazing! Everyone loves it. I've made it at least 4 times in the last two weeks. I followed the suggestion to put the topping on later (I did about 15-20 minutes in) and it worked out great. This makes a great dessert or breakfast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA
Living In: Rotterdam, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I have to say this is one of the BEST Apple breads I have tried!!!! It had a great flavor to it and it was REAL moist! I did forget to put the struesel on top & it still tasted SOOO good and I did add 1tsp of cinnamon which adds a lot of flavor! I will be adding this recipe to my cook book!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Platteville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States