Dutch Apple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This bread is fantastic! Most people like to add their little twist to things, so here's mine: I doubled the topping portion of the recipe, because I think toppings are the best part, and I was not disappointed with the outcome. I did as another comment suggested, and put it on the bread about halfway through cooking, so that it would not fall into the bread. Although..I really wouldn't mind if the topping were somehow 'swirled' into the bread..I don't really know how I'd do that though (not some expert chef). Just FYI the topping will more or less harden and form a crust. It won't be some gooey thing. Because of this, I think next time (there will be a next time!) I will make an icing or glaze or something to drizzle on top of the slices when I serve it. Mostly for presentation; this recipe is by no means lacking in sweetness. Also I think next time I might try using green apples instead of red. The recipe doesn't specify which to use; I used red apples. While it did turn out yummy, I felt that there could have been more of an apple presence. I really don't think going heavier on the apples would really solve it, so i'm thinking maybe the tartness of green apples will perhaps make it stand out more. Or maybe just maybe throwing in a little bit of lemon juice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Oh my goodness! This is an amazing recipe! The batter tastes like cookie dough! The finished product is beautiful! I put the topping on half way through the baking and it did not sink to the middle. I drizzled the top with a light powdered sugar glaze. Looks amazing, tastes amazing. Sold out of them at a recent bakesale, and have also made several loaves as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Delicious and simple. Except for the buttermilk, most of these ingredients are usually on hand. So I just added about a half teaspoon of vinegar to the milk and it worked out as well. I took the reviewer's advice who suggested putting the topping on half way through the bake time. No sinking at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This is the first apple bread I've made from this site and it's great! Like others, I addeed 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon to the batter and added the topping after 20 minutes of baking. The topping didn't sink in and did form a crust on top. I added a little oatmeal to the strudel mixture and made a glaze from confectioner's sugar and maple syrup to go over top. Next time I think I will double the amount of apples, but the recipe is fine as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
As written, a bit bland with only 1/2 tsp cinnamon in the topping. I added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp apple pie spice to the batter and a little pie spice to the topping. Bake time was perfect and the loaves are very pretty. I left the peel on the apple for color and added nutritional value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I have to say this is one of the BEST Apple breads I have tried!!!! It had a great flavor to it and it was REAL moist! I did forget to put the struesel on top & it still tasted SOOO good and I did add 1tsp of cinnamon which adds a lot of flavor! I will be adding this recipe to my cook book!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Platteville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I just tried this recipe tonight. I had buttermilk and apples that needed to be used. The bread was very good. I added an extra 1/2 cup of apples and extra nuts. A nice crust formed on top of the bread and to my families suprise the topping mixture sank into the center. It made for a nice cinnamon sugar treat. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Resizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Addison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Absolutely gorgeous loaf of bread, and it tastes fantastic! This made a generous 9x5 loaf. I added just pinch of cinnamon to the batter. I made the glaze for the top as another reviewer suggested. I added a splash of maple flavoring to the glaze, which I think enhanced the bread. I added just a little oatmeal to the streusel to give it a little crunch. Make sure your streusel is applied in small pieces to prevent it from sinking. Try this recipe! You will be delighted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I love this bread, the first time I did it I made the topping a little to buttery so I mixed it into the dough,it was really good, the second time I made it with the topping on top as the recipe said but for some reason I didnt like it as much, so this time( the 3rd time) I mixed the topping into the dough again and its wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Avoca, Michigan, USA
Living In: Croswell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This smelled incredible while it was baking, and the batter tasted great, but the finished product was kind of bland. I didn't have any problem with the topping sinking to the middle of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States