Dutch Apple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
delicious! i doubled the streusel as some suggested, great idea. who doesn't love struesel!! i also doubled the apples to 2 cups. we used winesaps. worked out great. i added 1 teas. vietnamese cinnamon to the batter. soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa demayo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
10 on the YUMMMM scale!! I did the following alterations to the recipe and it was great: 1. I added a cup more apples and left out the nuts. I used Ginger Gold apples and they were slightly green so it was a sweet/tart flavor. 2. I added another 1/2 recipe of dry topping ingredients and before baking I spread a fairly random pattern of a heaping 2 T. of the dry topping ingredients to the top of the batter. Then, I used a knife with the blade turned at a 45 degree angle and drew and "S" pattern all the way down, about three different times. I went deep into the batter to distribute the topping. I then added the butter to the remaining topping mix and added it to the bread half way through the cook time. This was fabulous as it added swirled topping through out the bread as well as a crunchy topping on top!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I love this bread, the first time I did it I made the topping a little to buttery so I mixed it into the dough,it was really good, the second time I made it with the topping on top as the recipe said but for some reason I didnt like it as much, so this time( the 3rd time) I mixed the topping into the dough again and its wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Avoca, Michigan, USA
Living In: Croswell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
As written, a bit bland with only 1/2 tsp cinnamon in the topping. I added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp apple pie spice to the batter and a little pie spice to the topping. Bake time was perfect and the loaves are very pretty. I left the peel on the apple for color and added nutritional value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This bread is fantastic! Most people like to add their little twist to things, so here's mine: I doubled the topping portion of the recipe, because I think toppings are the best part, and I was not disappointed with the outcome. I did as another comment suggested, and put it on the bread about halfway through cooking, so that it would not fall into the bread. Although..I really wouldn't mind if the topping were somehow 'swirled' into the bread..I don't really know how I'd do that though (not some expert chef). Just FYI the topping will more or less harden and form a crust. It won't be some gooey thing. Because of this, I think next time (there will be a next time!) I will make an icing or glaze or something to drizzle on top of the slices when I serve it. Mostly for presentation; this recipe is by no means lacking in sweetness. Also I think next time I might try using green apples instead of red. The recipe doesn't specify which to use; I used red apples. While it did turn out yummy, I felt that there could have been more of an apple presence. I really don't think going heavier on the apples would really solve it, so i'm thinking maybe the tartness of green apples will perhaps make it stand out more. Or maybe just maybe throwing in a little bit of lemon juice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
It was good, but I don't understand why everyone is raving about it. It was pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Everyone else really liked it. I'm beginning to think that I have a sensitivity to buttermilk though, because every time I eat something with buttermilk in it, it has a horribly bitter taste. So, I didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Very yummy and I did do as other reviewers and added the topping after about half the time of baking. Truly yummy bread that was very fragant while baking - almost smells like apple pie. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MVG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This smelled incredible while it was baking, and the batter tasted great, but the finished product was kind of bland. I didn't have any problem with the topping sinking to the middle of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Delicious and simple. Except for the buttermilk, most of these ingredients are usually on hand. So I just added about a half teaspoon of vinegar to the milk and it worked out as well. I took the reviewer's advice who suggested putting the topping on half way through the bake time. No sinking at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States