Dutch Apple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I think I put too much apple pieces and the whole dough looks like 'apple loaf'. It looks ugly when it comes out with all the chunks of apple. But when I bite into it... it's awsome! Definitely a keeper! (I used whole wheat flour btw and still very very good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was the first time i have ever made apple bread. I made it for my pre-k class, they were learning apples in september, the teachers asked us parents to make something with apples as most kids never had alot of things with apples in them. I did not have the buttermilk so i used sour milk instead. Turned out awesome! 9 out of 10 kids said this was there favorite thing made with apples that day. I would say that is a sucsess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nipawin, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Olds, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Thank you for this delicious recipe! I made a few changes as I didn't have nuts and didnt have time to make the frosting. I added 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/4 tsp Cinnamon as well as 1 ripe banana to the dough. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RugbyNLucky

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
thought this was great... didn't change a thing. Hubbie loved it. You really must use the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
what a waste! the only thing i changed was sour cream for the buttermilk. the inside came out runny, and had to put it back into the oven for another 10 minutes. still wasn't done. too bad it didn't come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joppatowne, Maryland, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
These are easily adapted into muffins and a HUGE hit with the kids. They are a little sweet and are just as good with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This recipe was just OK for me. It was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This bread was super moist, tasty and wonderful! Like another person suggested I doubled the topping. I made one loaf yesterday and today I'm making another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Great Recipe! I admit that the original is a bit bland. So, I added 1tsp of cinnamon to the recipe the next time I made it and it is terrific! I would suggest that you use only butter for the streusel as the maragine was like a spread not crumbly. Also, if you have an allergy to egg, you can use egg replacer instead. It still is moist, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This is the first apple bread I've made from this site and it's great! Like others, I addeed 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon to the batter and added the topping after 20 minutes of baking. The topping didn't sink in and did form a crust on top. I added a little oatmeal to the strudel mixture and made a glaze from confectioner's sugar and maple syrup to go over top. Next time I think I will double the amount of apples, but the recipe is fine as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States