Dutch Apple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
My picky twin boys loved this! Wonderful recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This is a very yummy bread :) I screwed up on the topping and made it too wet, so I just lightly mixed it into the batter and it still tasted very good! I also chopped my apples and dropped them into cold lemon water in order to prevent them from turning brown. More out of habit than necessity. Oh ya, I also left the skins on. Half a loaf is frozen for now for self control :)~ Oh and I didn't use nuts...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
FANTASTIC recipe. Tastes just like apple pie. I subbed oil for butter, 5T mayo for the eggs, milk for buttermilk, added cinnamon, and didn't add walnuts. I didn't make the topping, but it was okay since the bread itself was rockin'! The only different thing I would do is add a little more apple into the recipe. Also, with my changes, it baked in 75 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was good bread, but I have had better. I agree that you need to add some cinnamon to the batter so it has a little more flavor. I did not have a problem with the topping sinking into the batter. I also found this bread a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I had 4 very lonely, neglected, OLD MacIntosh apples in the bottom drawer of my fridge and I was determined to use them! This fabulous bread became their home! I would have made this recipe as described, but I had to get rid of those apples..so I chopped one cup of apples as suggested and the rest was shredded into the batter. Wow, thanks for the recipe...my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Almonte, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Really really good! The top is a little crispy, but I love it that way! I needed to back it for about 60-65 minutes. I omitted the walnuts and substituted 1 Tbsp white vinegar & 1 cup milk instead of buttermilk (based on googling "buttermilk substitute"). Turned out perfectly! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carla_P
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I also omitted the walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla_P

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
As is, I would agree that this bread would be very boring. Like others I added cinnamon to both the bread and the topping. I also doubled the topping and added 1/2 when I put it in the oven and then 1/2 over halfway through. The initial topping dropped nicely into the bread and the 2nd half made a nice crust. I used a Johnagold apple and the taste was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CeliaBelia
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Very good, but I feel like it could use just a little something more. Perhaps some added cin or other fall spices. I'll try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeliaBelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
If you want more of the topping you can add it to the loaf as well as the surface. Just pour half of the batter into the loaf pan sprinkle the topping over batter. Cover that with the remaining batter, swirel a butter knife through the batter once or twice. Put additional full recipie of topping over top as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States