Dutch Apple Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I added a little more sliced apples to the filling and added 1/3 cup oats to the crumb topping which meant I had to increase the butter in the topping just a touch. Baked at 350*, my pie was done in a little over 60 minutes. I did cover the pie halfway through with foil to keep the pie from burning. Very good pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was really good -- I modified this recipe only because I had to -- only had certain ingredients on hand. I chopped two granny smith apples, used to 1/2 pints of red raspberries. Did not have any brown sugar on hand, so used 1/4 cup dark maple syrup, two tablespoons of strawberry jam and 1 tablespoon of grenadine (just to see what would happen). I added all of this to the fruit and made sure everything was coated and poured into pie crust. Made the crumble and baked. This was really good but was very tart -- I was afraid of the pie being too sweet because of the maple syrup and the grenadine, but the granny smith's really kept things from being sweet. Next time, will use 1/2 cup maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This pie was great flavor. Didn't measure fruit, just made a big mound in regular pie plate, it cooks down of course. Baked 375 (to make sure crust would cook) for 50 min. Apples became a bit soft for my preference though. Instructions probably should read "with a pastry cutter, cut butter into dry ingredients" - rather than mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This pie was very good! I used way more fruit though. I didn't have rasberries so I used almost a whole pint of Blueberries and about 5 or six small-medium apples. Then I added sugar to the apple berry mix. the only problem I had was with the crumble but it was my fault. I mixed it for too long and the butter melted. so it turned out more like a dough then crumble... but my whole family LOVED it! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Used the topping here, with some oats mixed in, on http://allrecipes.com/recipe/baked-fresh-cherry-pie/detail.aspx for an awesome Dutch Cherry Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ward Langston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was delicious! Not too sweet, and the crumbly topping had such a nice flavor with the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Yummy, but appearance wasn't the pretties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chrissykins
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Thought this was very good! I really enjoyed eating this. I did add the oatmeal and thought it was a nice touch. I could find any ground allspice so I just didn't put any in. I will make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This combination is so great! I took this to a "pie night" and everyone loved it. That being said I did change alot of this recipe to make it work. I doubled the fruit, I added 1 Tab of cornstarch (which was not enough- it was still pretty runny), and I cooked it at 375 for about 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Although this Recipe was good, I did increase the aplles by about 4 cups and berries I cup each. the Baking time was really off. 350 for 30 min was way to short. I left my pie in for an hour and my apples still came out crunchy. Next time I will Follow Betty Crocker cooking time for a french apple pie which is 425 for 40 min cover top with foil in the last 15 min to prevent burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States