Dutch Almond Boterkoek Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2000
This buttery bar cookie is simple to make and surprisingly delicious and addictive. I include this cookie when I'm putting together a cookie tray - it provides a nice balance to the more complex and "heavier" cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Call me silly, but I like them better made in a pie plate. very simple, but needs a little adjustment. Mix 2/3 cup room-temperature (unsalted) butter, 1/2 cup white sugar, and 1/2 cup packed brown (light or dark). I like the almond flavor, so add 1 1/2 tsp extract. Add the whole beaten egg, except for 1 tsp. Sift 1 1/2 cups of flower and 1/2 tsp of baking powder into butter/sugar/egg mixture. Put dough in greased 9" pie plate. Mix reserved egg w/ 1 tsp water and brush over dough. I like to add some turbinado sugar on top for crunch rather than the slivered almonds, but that's a matter of taste. Bake for 25-30 mins. at 350F until firm to the touch. Comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura-Jane
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
THESE ARE INCREDIBLE! So easy and sooooooo good! I just used an average glass casserole dish, and it worked out fine. These were halfway between a cookie and a cake, but they cut very easily and held their shape. This recipe would make a divine crust. Highly recommended! So easy and quick, and the almond taste is gourmet--reminiscent of marzipan. I'll be making these again. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura-Jane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This recipe is pretty good as is, but I suggest using half white sugar, half (light) brown. In Holland we don't use brown sugar for this recipe, but a white sugar that is similar in texture to brown sugar. I have never made this using egg and omitted it this time, too, and it was still delicious. Good to know for those with egg allergies. Take this out of the oven when light brown, leave it in too long and you could break a tooth once it's cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Delicious and buttery! My family LOVES these cookie bars. I made a whole bunch and gave as holiday gifts to co-workers and everyone loved them. They don't look that impressive or delicious, but taste great. My sister always requests me to bake these for her. I love the recipe because it's so fast and easy. Thanks for the recipe! The only change I made was cut down the sugar to 1 cup, but that's personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
These are really tasty. I made them because my husbands family is Dutch. My husband said they were really good. i am going to try them out on my father-in-law tonight. Hopefully he likes them just as much. Thanks for the recipe. I have been looking for some dutch baking recipes for the holidays for a few years now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
good cookie...reminded me when i was young and the dutch bakker would come to our house to bring us these cookies. The only issue I had was the time in the oven. I had them in there at least for 35 min. not 20...did anyone else have this problem???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Jay, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I had to invent a pan to bake this in and I also had to cook it for about 10 minute longer. Having said that, the biscuits tasted great. I didn't cut them into regular sizes, but instead broke the 'cake' into pieces. Everyone at work loved them and I'm taking some to my Dutch class tonight!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
very tasty, I think I got the batter a little fluffy, but the taste is how I remember it in Nederland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Best boterkoek I've ever made. and I've tried a couple before. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It's a keeper. I was born and raised in Holland so boterkoek is a taste of home for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States