Dutch Almond Boterkoek Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This was a hit with our hosts and relatives! Plus it was super easy to make! I would suggest taking it out just when it turns brown, even if it doesn't seem done. The bars firm up as they cool. Try cutting them into triangles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I made 2 batches of these for my entire class of 70 people, and they were gone instantly! The second time I made them I finally got to try one, and they are fabulous!! My fiance is Dutch and these are by far his favorite treat. Very authentic, easy to make, and highly addictive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Delicious and buttery! My family LOVES these cookie bars. I made a whole bunch and gave as holiday gifts to co-workers and everyone loved them. They don't look that impressive or delicious, but taste great. My sister always requests me to bake these for her. I love the recipe because it's so fast and easy. Thanks for the recipe! The only change I made was cut down the sugar to 1 cup, but that's personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I have been looking for this recipe for 12 years! It was a huge hit when I made it for the cookie table at my sister's wedding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Call me silly, but I like them better made in a pie plate. very simple, but needs a little adjustment. Mix 2/3 cup room-temperature (unsalted) butter, 1/2 cup white sugar, and 1/2 cup packed brown (light or dark). I like the almond flavor, so add 1 1/2 tsp extract. Add the whole beaten egg, except for 1 tsp. Sift 1 1/2 cups of flower and 1/2 tsp of baking powder into butter/sugar/egg mixture. Put dough in greased 9" pie plate. Mix reserved egg w/ 1 tsp water and brush over dough. I like to add some turbinado sugar on top for crunch rather than the slivered almonds, but that's a matter of taste. Bake for 25-30 mins. at 350F until firm to the touch. Comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Really dry, and my almonds don't stick to the cookie. The top layer breaks off. I feel like I'm eating cooked almond butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
These are very good!! I love almond flavoring so they were right up my alley. I halved the batch and made a small pan and cooked them for about 25 minutes and they were perfect. I had made a regular batch prior and followed the instructions of others and cooked them for 30 and to me they were too done. They came out of the oven looking perfect, but after they cooled they hardened up a bit....still good though! Next time I make them I am going to double the batch and make them in a bigger pan so I get a thicker bar. I think it is going to take a few tries to figure out the perfect temp and perfect pan, but the recipe is spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AWeiser29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Awesome!! I did the recipe exactly and it turned out really well. The 20 minutes wasn't enough so I let it go for an additional 5 minutes and it still wasn't done in the middle but I pulled it out anyway. Still super yummy. It was very greasy for me because of the butter but nobody seemed to mind because it tasted so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
My workplace was having an ethnic Christmas food day and I made these Dutch Almond Boterkoek bars (cutting them in half to further feed the masses), and they went faster than anyone else's items. Several people asked for the recipe afterwards. I followed this recipe exactly, only using sliced almonds on top instead of slivered. I did have to cook them longer than stated in the directions, more like 45 minutes. I just watched them closely after 30 minutes and when I saw a slight browning I pulled them from the oven. They probably had to bake longer because I used a 9x9 square baking dish and therefore were a little thicker than they would have been otherwise with the baking dishes suggested. I plan to make these again very soon and I think I may try pecans this time. These treats are a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Santuzza's Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Fabulous! I love buttery, melt-in-your-mouth cookies, and these didn't fail to impress me. I did ½ cup butter and ½ cup margarine (ran out of butter!) and followed the rest of the recipe, except I sprinkled turbinado (like large-grain brown sugar) on top and put whole almonds in a decorative pattern. Yum, yum, yum! Don't be concerned about the number of steps, this is a super-fast recipe! Try it! Thanks for sharing, Sandra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States