Dutch Almond Boterkoek Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This recipe is pretty good as is, but I suggest using half white sugar, half (light) brown. In Holland we don't use brown sugar for this recipe, but a white sugar that is similar in texture to brown sugar. I have never made this using egg and omitted it this time, too, and it was still delicious. Good to know for those with egg allergies. Take this out of the oven when light brown, leave it in too long and you could break a tooth once it's cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This recipe is awesome! I was craving marzipan and this hit the spot. So easy to make and stayed moist and yummy! I added a little extra almond extract and a touch of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samplfamily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This was a very easy recipe to make. I added some crushed nuts into the actual dough as well as on top and this added an extra crunch. I thought there was slightly too much butter though... But my family didn't mind and loved it but I think next time I will lower the amount down slightly because it was a bit too much. Over all an excellent recipe and will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
These are amazing! I also had problems with the almonds falling off. I switched to chopped walnuts and press them into the dough. They don't fall off! I also use vanilla instead of almond extract. I like that flavor better. I make these every Christmas and they ship very well! My son likes to crumble them over ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arlen
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Incredible! Just what I was craving. Was tempted to tweak it but I followed the recipe as is and it turned out heavenly! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This was unbelievably good! I did make to alterations but purely out of my own taste. I added 1 1/2 teaspoons of almond extract and I topped mine with sweetened coconut witch toasted beautifully for me. I only baked it for 25 minutes and the consistency was that of gooey butter cake but still held up to the cutting really well. Really easy to make as well! My two kids and hubs loved it! Definitely going to be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
My sister-in-law makes this for most family get-togethers and I was never a fan. I decided to make this myself as it's one of my husband's favourites and now I can't get enough. I cooked it for a few minutes longer and it came out with a crunchy edge that is so delicious!!!! This is definitely something I will make more often. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
very tasty, I think I got the batter a little fluffy, but the taste is how I remember it in Nederland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Best boterkoek I've ever made. and I've tried a couple before. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It's a keeper. I was born and raised in Holland so boterkoek is a taste of home for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Big hit with friends,good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States