Durbin Hotel Sugar Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I have an extensive background in cooking. On my sisters birthday I ask what kind of cake she wanted. She said she did not care for cake but loves Sugar Cream Pies. I had never had much luck with making sugar cream pies. But, didn't want to buy one. I found the recipe easy to follow. The double boiler worked very well and ensured no scorching. The flavor was excellent. and maybe an original Indiana Sugar Cream pie isn't made with a prepared filling, I find this the best yet. My sister will eat it tomorrow. I will let you know. P.S. (I bought a Wicks just in case.) But I am sure she will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This was delicious. It's super-rich and dense and almost a bit too sweet. Reminds me of Indiana summers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Very good recipe. It's funny how everyone tells a different story about this pie. In the research I've done, it could have come from Indiana pioneers, Amish, Shaker, Pennsylvania Dutch Country as well as pioneer Quakers. Most have no eggs or butter but some do. Three main ingredients seem to be brown or maple sugar, heavy cream and flour in a pie shell. Some make the filling before putting in the shell and baking, some you don't bake the filling, just the shell and the oldest seems to be the finger method. Put the three ingredients in the unbaked shell and stir with your finger so you don't break the crust or turn the cream to butter and then top with nutmeg and bake for about an hour. Some are thick like a pumpkin or custard pie and some are more gluey. However you make yours, this is a good recipe also. Amazing history behind this pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
was not impressed- followed recipe exactly. have had much better. definitely edible, but will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRFISH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I'd have to agree with Bredbaker, this is not a sugar cream pie. It's very good, though it didn't satisfy my craving for sugar cream pie. Just seems it should have a different name. Mine turned out perfectly, but I realized the term "thickened" is lacking in clarity judging from others comments. I was wondering while cooking just HOW thick is it supposed to be. I'd describe it as "pudding thick", if not a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I'm going to go ahead and give this pie an extra star for subtlety. I did all my cooking over medium heat - no double boiler. I might have let it go a little too long because it was pretty custard-y before I even put it in the oven and it never really boiled or simmered. My fiance and I hemmed and hawed over it, but in the end decided it was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
An authentic Hoosier Sugar Cream Pie does not have a prepared cooked filling. The ingredients are combined and poured into an unbaked pie shell. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Bake the filled pie at 450 for 10 minutes, then lower oven to 325 degrees and bake for 50-60minutes until you can insert a knife in the center of pie and it comes out clean. You may have to cover crust with foil for first 35 minutes or so to prevent it from over browning. Here in Indiana we use flour, not cornstarch to thicken our cream pie. We use WHOLE milk for the milk too. If you prefer to make it more traditionally, cut the butter down to 1/4 cup and add it by teaspoon into pie shell after you pour the filling into it. Sprinkle nutmeg over top. Sorry to make so many changes but this is how we do it here in In and our pies always set up very well.I sell many many cream pies throughout the year. Yum. This recipe has a rich history here in Indiana where it began in the Amish community when they ran out of their winter apples. Also was baked in the Shaker community in Eastern Indiana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Nisswa, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I have made this pie several times now, and it's the best. Sugar Cream Pie is my husband's favorite pie in the world, so when I found this recipe, I was excited to try it. It was wonderful, my husband asks for it all the time. I have made this pie with both salted and unsalted butter and prefer it with the salted butter. It just has much better flavor. Thank you for sharing this recipe E. Sexton, I'm sure it will be in our family for generations to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Ive made several various recipes, this is the best, not quite a Wicks, but is wonderful. A secret is to use very a very fresh jar of nutmeg on top,if yours is old, get new, it makes a difference!! Im going to use fresh and grate it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
this is excellent and not too heavy. Next time I make it I plan to put fresh fruit around the top, because I think the combination will be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States