Dupre Family Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I don't know what original gumbo tastes like, but 5 stars to the Dupre family! I used andouille (sp?) sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Just like the stuff my Mom learned to cook when she lived in New Orleans & made when I was growing up, along with many other cajun favorites. Thanks, Crawfish, for sharing this heritage recipie from down South! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I cheated and used boneless chicken breasts and premade roux (about 8oz). I was worried the breast might come out dry but they were super moist and easy to shred, I used andouille sausage (of course) and threw in a bay leaf, thyme, basil and some minced garlic when I threw in the sausage because I love SPICES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This is a great recipe! I added some crab meat for a lil extra kick, and potatoe salad on the side..delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicolette
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
It's not often I take the time to make gumbo, let alone one which requires marinade time, so with this one I took care -- especially with the roux. I probably could have let it go darker (hence losing its thickening properties) than what I did, but I got nervous it would burn, so the resulting gumbo was less soupy than I would have liked (totally my error). And opting for color, I chose to use a tri-color bell pepper blend and for flavor, andouille sausage. Overall- a completely satisfying gumbo ... still not 100% convinced marinating the chicken did much to enhance an already good recipe, tho... many thanks to the Dupre family for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Needed some tomatoes and something more to thicken it (I added more flour but it still wasn't thick enough). Otherwise, was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
worth all the steps, for SURE. Used some really spicy andouille sausage and added file powder at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
very good!! I didn't have any cayenne pepper though so it was a little bland for gumbo. It took a long time and constant baby sitting of the roux lol I was scared to burn it. otherwise awesome and should be easier the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy6425

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I love this gumbo. I prepared as stated but just put the chicken pieces in the broth and cooked. I cleaned the bones and skin after it had cooked. I used 2 types of sausage. One was an green onion smoked sausage as well as andouie sausage and 2 lbs total. I added 1 Tsp of liquid smoke flavoring and it was fabulous. I recommend this recipe! (I tend to make it spicy so put more cayenne pepper in it as well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montpelier, Vermont, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States