Dumpling Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ferne Hebig
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Great recipe! Did mine a little different but end result was excellent. I fried my onions and bacon together then added potatoes and cooked longer with some salt, pepper, thyme and smoked applewood seasoning blend. . Added water with chicken and vegetable soup bases. Let potatoes cool about halfway then started plopping in the dumplings. I added about 3/4 - 1 cup more flour than it asked for to make them rollable and made them little bite sized bits of goodness. By the time I was done putting them in the potatoes were finished. Worked great!! Tastes excellent. Will do it again. Maybe try adding these dumplings to other soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ferne Hebig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made it exactly as directed and it was terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
The soup if made exactly has no taste and the dumplings needed lots of help. I tried saving this soup by adding in chicken broth, cream of potato and celery soup to get the base creamy and add some flavor. The dumplings need some sage or something to give them some flavor because they are just so bland. It still isn't great but I can at least eat this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This can be great- definitely with modifications. I took the advice from the number one review and added in frozen mixed veggies. I used 2 onions instead of one, and I would definitely use 1.5x or 2x more potatoes next time. After they have boiled put 3/4 of them in the blender and then add back to the pot. Will give it a nice stew texture. I added garlic powder and cracked black peppercorns to my dumpling batter to give them some spice.. Most importantly add THREE chicken bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I have never made a dumplin till i tried this recipe. My family loved it and my husband gave me the best compliment ( It taste just like grandmas.) super easy and budget friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This soup was delicious and very filling. I did make some changes though. I added diced celery and chicken bouillon to make it more flavorful. The only difficulty I had was with the dumplings.....They stuck to everything. Next time I think I will just add more flour. It'a a delicious, easy-to-make soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen's Friend

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was great! Can be a base for a more complex soup or leave as is for a inexpensive very filling meal that make A LOT! I used chicken stock and added chiken and my hubby and I enjoyed! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Oh ya... the family loved this one. It's a keeper. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I thought this soup was very good and simple. I had all the ingredients on hand which was nice. My dumplings turned out really hard, but it seemed I had to add alot more flour to make them less sticky. Didn't use all the dumpling dough either. Developed great flavor. I also added 2 chicken bouillion cubes. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pumpkyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Added 4 stalks of celery, used chicken bacon and add ham flavored soup base to the water. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States