Dump Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I found a recipe similar to this in a cookbook titled, "Texas Celebrity Cookbook," by Russell Gardner and Chris Farkas. The recipe came from Congressman Bill Archer of Texas. The only differences in Rep. Archer's recipe are: Omit the coconut, and the last step is 2 sticks of butter, sliced into pats and dotted over the top of the cake before baking. I have made the cake several times, and it always turns out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winamoe

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
My family LOVED this even though I didn't make it exactly right. (I didn't read the reviews first! ) I told them you'll like it even more next time. And have it with vanilla ice cream, OMG! I dumped crushed pineapple in a greased 9x13 and spread it evenly then cherry pie filling then cake mix. Patted it down and put butter squares on top. Next time more butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This turned out great. I did use a few of the suggestions by using white cake mix and additional nuts and coconut. I layered nuts and coconut over the pie filling and then in the last 10 minutes of baking layered more on topo. It was a hit a work. I served it with whipped cream. NOTE- My cake only took 45 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
So good and so easy. Doesn't get much better than that for this Texan. Altho, not for dieters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Buckley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Yummy!! So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I've made this recipe before to the letter, and it's wonderful. I use butter pats on top, not melted butter. Tonight, because one of my guests said she doesn't like overly-sweet desserts, I made it with 1.5 cans of drained tart cherries instead of pie filling. It was still really good and they LOVED it. I did find that the top of it was on the salty side, though. I served it with vanilla ice cream, which was PERFECT. Next time I am going to experiment and mix tart cherries with the sweet, gooey pie filling. Then, I think I'll alternate pats of butter, one stick unsalted, the other stick salted. I'll let you know how it goes. THANK YOU FOR THE AWESOME RECIPE! Oh, and I did leave the coconut out because I am not crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHER8470

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I give this recipe 5 starts but ONLY with the following substitution-use a can of sliced peaches in syrup instead of the cherries. It goes MUCH better with the coconut and pineapple. Also, make sure you drain the pineapple well, as you'll be using the syrup from the peaches for moisture. My mother used to make this all the time when I was a kid and I loved it! Definitely a keeper in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyjoca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: South Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I have made this before, BUT i just used 2 cans of pie filling(either cherry or apple). This is the first time I have made it this way, LOVED IT. Followed the recipe exactly and it was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I used fresh pineapple because I didn't have any canned. I put thin pats of butter trying to cover every inch of the cake and only needed a stick and a half. I also sprinkled cinnamon on top. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I've been using this recipe for dump cake for several years. It's delicious. I use two cans of cherries. I don't measure out the coconut or walnuts, I just sprinkle some evenly on top. It's a good summer dessert. I like that it doesn't need to be refrigerated so it's easy to take to picnics or family gatherings when a long car drive is how you're getting there. It feeds many and tastes like you fussed over it all day for that wickedly good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States