Dump Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This turned out great. I did use a few of the suggestions by using white cake mix and additional nuts and coconut. I layered nuts and coconut over the pie filling and then in the last 10 minutes of baking layered more on topo. It was a hit a work. I served it with whipped cream. NOTE- My cake only took 45 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
So good and so easy. Doesn't get much better than that for this Texan. Altho, not for dieters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Buckley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Yummy!! So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I've made this recipe before to the letter, and it's wonderful. I use butter pats on top, not melted butter. Tonight, because one of my guests said she doesn't like overly-sweet desserts, I made it with 1.5 cans of drained tart cherries instead of pie filling. It was still really good and they LOVED it. I did find that the top of it was on the salty side, though. I served it with vanilla ice cream, which was PERFECT. Next time I am going to experiment and mix tart cherries with the sweet, gooey pie filling. Then, I think I'll alternate pats of butter, one stick unsalted, the other stick salted. I'll let you know how it goes. THANK YOU FOR THE AWESOME RECIPE! Oh, and I did leave the coconut out because I am not crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHER8470

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I give this recipe 5 starts but ONLY with the following substitution-use a can of sliced peaches in syrup instead of the cherries. It goes MUCH better with the coconut and pineapple. Also, make sure you drain the pineapple well, as you'll be using the syrup from the peaches for moisture. My mother used to make this all the time when I was a kid and I loved it! Definitely a keeper in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyjoca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: South Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I have made this before, BUT i just used 2 cans of pie filling(either cherry or apple). This is the first time I have made it this way, LOVED IT. Followed the recipe exactly and it was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I used fresh pineapple because I didn't have any canned. I put thin pats of butter trying to cover every inch of the cake and only needed a stick and a half. I also sprinkled cinnamon on top. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I've been using this recipe for dump cake for several years. It's delicious. I use two cans of cherries. I don't measure out the coconut or walnuts, I just sprinkle some evenly on top. It's a good summer dessert. I like that it doesn't need to be refrigerated so it's easy to take to picnics or family gatherings when a long car drive is how you're getting there. It feeds many and tastes like you fussed over it all day for that wickedly good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I forgot to drain the pineapple and the cake still turned out fantastic! I was so afraid it would not turn out, but it was perfect. I took it to a get together and it was very popular. I left out the coconut and used pecans instead of walnuts. It was amazing! From now on I will make it just the same without draining the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
It was a gooey high calorie mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States