Dump Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
A couple of tips to make this cake even better: 1. Use a 9/13 pan. 2. Melt the butter before pouring it on top of the dry cake mix. 3. During the last 10 minutes of baking, sprinkle chopped walnuts and shredded coconut on top. This cake is out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
can use 13x9" pan ? do you drain the pineapple?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
The proportions of the wet to dry ingredients in this recipe are the most perfect of all the 'dump cake' recipes I found on this site. I had no dry cake mix left on top. I had just a couple of tbsp. shy of the 1 cup butter. I cut the slices of butter into pats and placed them over the entire cake trying not to leave too many gaps. It worked perfectly. I only had about 1/3 cup coconut which was fine since so many reviews of dump cakes on this site state that there was too much dry ingredients and not enough wet. This was perfect. I whipped up some cream to put on top and my coworkers loved this cobbler-like dessert. I was leary of using a bundt pan so I put it in a 9x13 sprayed with pam and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Easy and delicious! Perfect for summer cookouts or potlucks. BTW, no need to drain the pineapples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This is really great and so easy to make.I used a 9 by 13 inch pan instead of a bundt pan and I topped it off with pecans and coconut. It turned out wonderful. I can't decide if I like it better warm or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I love making this. It is so easy and tastes so good. I have made this several times and have never had a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CariMel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Made this for the first time and it came out perfect. Took to a pary and all loved it! I made only a few changes recommended by other reviewers....I used a 9x13 pan, layered the cherries, then pineapple (do not drain), then I added 1 cup of shredded coconut next followed by 1 cup of chopped pecans and lastly the box of yellow cake mix....Don't stir it all up....just leave in layers...then I used 2 sticks of butter...one I melted and poured over the cake mix and the other stick I sliced and layed in the spots where the melted butter didn't reach...this made it cook perfectly without any gaps of uncooked dried cake mix leftover as I have had in the past. Turned out absolutley perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This is a great recipe! My mom used to make this for me when I was little (without the pineapple), and sometimes she would use blueberry pie filling instead of cherry filling. I don't recommend using a metal 9X13 pan if you plan to store the leftovers in the pan - the acids in the pineapple start to corrode the pan! Use a 9X13 glass baking dish instead. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisahughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Ive made this for 20 YEARS!! No changes needed absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
This recipe is a hit with my family. It's especially good served warm over ice cream! I also tried it with a can of apple pie filling-servied it warm over ice cream, then topped it with caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Cobbler Dump Cake I

An easy, peachy, dump cake ready in under an hour!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States