Dump Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
A couple of tips to make this cake even better: 1. Use a 9/13 pan. 2. Melt the butter before pouring it on top of the dry cake mix. 3. During the last 10 minutes of baking, sprinkle chopped walnuts and shredded coconut on top. This cake is out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
can use 13x9" pan ? do you drain the pineapple?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
The proportions of the wet to dry ingredients in this recipe are the most perfect of all the 'dump cake' recipes I found on this site. I had no dry cake mix left on top. I had just a couple of tbsp. shy of the 1 cup butter. I cut the slices of butter into pats and placed them over the entire cake trying not to leave too many gaps. It worked perfectly. I only had about 1/3 cup coconut which was fine since so many reviews of dump cakes on this site state that there was too much dry ingredients and not enough wet. This was perfect. I whipped up some cream to put on top and my coworkers loved this cobbler-like dessert. I was leary of using a bundt pan so I put it in a 9x13 sprayed with pam and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Easy and delicious! Perfect for summer cookouts or potlucks. BTW, no need to drain the pineapples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This is really great and so easy to make.I used a 9 by 13 inch pan instead of a bundt pan and I topped it off with pecans and coconut. It turned out wonderful. I can't decide if I like it better warm or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I love making this. It is so easy and tastes so good. I have made this several times and have never had a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CariMel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Ive made this for 20 YEARS!! No changes needed absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
This recipe is a hit with my family. It's especially good served warm over ice cream! I also tried it with a can of apple pie filling-servied it warm over ice cream, then topped it with caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2001
This is not a cake at all. It is more like a cobbler. Shouldn't even be in the cake catagory
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This is a great recipe! My mom used to make this for me when I was little (without the pineapple), and sometimes she would use blueberry pie filling instead of cherry filling. I don't recommend using a metal 9X13 pan if you plan to store the leftovers in the pan - the acids in the pineapple start to corrode the pan! Use a 9X13 glass baking dish instead. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisahughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States