Dump Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I didn't have a can of crushed pineapple, but I did have a 21oz can of pineapple rings, so I ate two of them and took about 2 T of juice out and crushed the rest of the contents with a pastry blender. I then mixed that with the cherry filling. I also did not have yellow cake mix, so I used white cake mix with some cinnamon and nutmeg whisked in. Greased the pan, dumped in the cherry/pineapple mix, dumped on the cake mix and poured melted butter all over the top. Awesome warm with ice cream and cold with whipped cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by california721

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
EDIT: after my husband tried it I had to re-review. He said he might as well eaten 8 teaspooons of white sugar out of the sugar bowl. LOL Way too sweet. Sickly sweet. Won't make this again...unless I want to fund several vacations for my dentist and his family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
this is really good, and my family has made this for years, but I believe it should be 350 degrees for 1 hour!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I took a fresh pineapple, "crushed" it in the food processor and added a half cup of orange juice because the fresh didn't have as much juice as canned. When I sliced my butter, I used The Pampered Chef Ultimate Mandoline. It was a super easy and fast way to make the slices thin enough to cover a 9x13. YUMMMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This was very good! I used the recommended size can of the cherry pie filling, a 20-oz can of pineapple chunks (with the juice) that I mashed first before adding to the pan, a box of white cake mix, 1 stick of butter plus 1 stick of margarine melted, 1/2 cup of walnuts and 1/2 cup of coconut on the top. I baked mine in a 9x13 pan at 375 for about 50 min. At about the 40-min mark, I used a fork and stirred the cake just slightly to incorporate the ingredients a little more... and because I was trying to hide the spot where I took some out to taste it! I served it with ice cream. My family loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Excellent, easy cake to make when you need something in a hurry or when you want something different. I have made this using white or yellow cake mix, apple pie filling & pineapple or cherry pie filling & pineapple. A very forgiving and adapatable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This is exactly how I've made dump cake for years. No fail, works-every-time cake. And sooo good served warm with a little vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsbont

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shipshewana, Indiana, USA
Living In: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
delicious! we had it warm with some vanilla ice cream and everyone loved it. I can't believe how simple it was! I made it on a movie marathon night, and I was gone so little time that I barely missed anything that was happening when I disappeared to make cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Lady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I have been making this for over 10 yrs. As previously mentioned the 9x13 cake pan does work better as does the melted butter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ClassyAzAngel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This is so good! I made for the Super Bowl this year and everyone loved it. It's so easy to make so that makes it that much better! I used a 9 X 13 pan instead and that worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States