Dump Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I didn't have a can of crushed pineapple, but I did have a 21oz can of pineapple rings, so I ate two of them and took about 2 T of juice out and crushed the rest of the contents with a pastry blender. I then mixed that with the cherry filling. I also did not have yellow cake mix, so I used white cake mix with some cinnamon and nutmeg whisked in. Greased the pan, dumped in the cherry/pineapple mix, dumped on the cake mix and poured melted butter all over the top. Awesome warm with ice cream and cold with whipped cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by california721

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
EDIT: after my husband tried it I had to re-review. He said he might as well eaten 8 teaspooons of white sugar out of the sugar bowl. LOL Way too sweet. Sickly sweet. Won't make this again...unless I want to fund several vacations for my dentist and his family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
this is really good, and my family has made this for years, but I believe it should be 350 degrees for 1 hour!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I took a fresh pineapple, "crushed" it in the food processor and added a half cup of orange juice because the fresh didn't have as much juice as canned. When I sliced my butter, I used The Pampered Chef Ultimate Mandoline. It was a super easy and fast way to make the slices thin enough to cover a 9x13. YUMMMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This was very good! I used the recommended size can of the cherry pie filling, a 20-oz can of pineapple chunks (with the juice) that I mashed first before adding to the pan, a box of white cake mix, 1 stick of butter plus 1 stick of margarine melted, 1/2 cup of walnuts and 1/2 cup of coconut on the top. I baked mine in a 9x13 pan at 375 for about 50 min. At about the 40-min mark, I used a fork and stirred the cake just slightly to incorporate the ingredients a little more... and because I was trying to hide the spot where I took some out to taste it! I served it with ice cream. My family loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Excellent, easy cake to make when you need something in a hurry or when you want something different. I have made this using white or yellow cake mix, apple pie filling & pineapple or cherry pie filling & pineapple. A very forgiving and adapatable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This is exactly how I've made dump cake for years. No fail, works-every-time cake. And sooo good served warm with a little vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsbont

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shipshewana, Indiana, USA
Living In: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
delicious! we had it warm with some vanilla ice cream and everyone loved it. I can't believe how simple it was! I made it on a movie marathon night, and I was gone so little time that I barely missed anything that was happening when I disappeared to make cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Lady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I have been making this for over 10 yrs. As previously mentioned the 9x13 cake pan does work better as does the melted butter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ClassyAzAngel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This is so good! I made for the Super Bowl this year and everyone loved it. It's so easy to make so that makes it that much better! I used a 9 X 13 pan instead and that worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States