Dump Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I wanted to do something with cherries for the 4th and I had a ton of yellow cake mix, so I thought I would give this a try. The bundt pan seemed like a nightmare to try and serve this cake so like other reviews I opted for the 9 x 13 pan. I used a Lite Cherry filling and was so disappointed in the lack of cherries that I added a whole bag of frozen dark cherries to the fruit layer. I only had 3/4 cup of butter, so I used that and it seemed enough. This didn't have a whole lot of cherry flavor. I think the pineapple kind of mellowd it out.Glad I added the extra cheeries. This is a breeze to throw together, but don't do it a day ahead because it was pretty soggy the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Mix the smaller cans of fruit filling ( 1 can cherry & I can blackberry) or add in some frozen berries ( still frozen)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferMarks

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
The cake was delicious, I made it in a 9 X 13 pan. I had a problem with some dry cake mix left on the top. I will stir the fruit and cake mix together a little before putting the butter on top. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I made it in a bundt pan which was a disaster. I was able to salvage it and transferred it into another dish to finish cooking for another 30 minutes. After reading other recipes on another site it states a glass pan should be used at 325 and any other pan at 350. This is the most misleading recipe for a person who has never heard of a dump cake or made one. I will make it again but in a 9x13 dish instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This recipe is exactly like the one that I use all the time. I love this dump cake. So easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I personally enjoyed this recipe. Not only is it easy and takes very few ingredients, but it's so good. I also added coconut and a few pecans. So good! I used a 9x13 pan also and had no problems. The only change I made was I used half the butter, I did melt it before adding it to the cake. It wasn't too dry at all, just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Very easy to do! I used what I had in the cupboard, blackberry and apple pie fillings with chocolate cake--delicious!! I sliced the butter real thin and didn't need a whole cup. Baked it for 30 minutes, perfect! Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Very good and very easy to make, but so sweet you can only eat a little bit (and I really love sweet stuff). Family and friends loved this. Great with cool whip or vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Ok so forget the bundt pan and drain the pinapple! Cook at 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I have friends who hate cherries yet had a fit that I did not make it for his Christmas party! Love this stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States