Dump Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This is my go to recipes. I have made this many times. Its easy, guick, and so good. I use the 9x13 cake pan. I use 2 lite cherry pie filling(any brand)because I like it more tart than sweet. One large can of crushed pineapple, undrained. I mixed these together in a bowl and then pour in the pan and then cover with yellow cake mix. I melt a stick and ahalf of butter and drizzle over top of cake and then add coconut and pecans. My family loves this and my husband doesn't even like fruit pies or cobblers but he loves this. I have also used this with 3 cans of peaches and topped with cinnamon and sugar and it's just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanigail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Could not find my auntie's tried and true recipe for dump cake, but I sure wish I had. I saw one comment that there was no need to drain the pineapple, but I am in disagreement. Wish I had read more reviews. This is in my oven now and it is a soupy mess! hopefully it will continue to bake a bit and evaporate one of the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Way too rich, it's like eating goopy butter mixed with tons of sugar. Even my kids wouldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Easy, fast, delicio.us. This has been a favorite in our extended family for years. Never fails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I've made this recipe for 35 years and its always a favorite at family & friends gatherings. I do a different twist on this recipe. I put this in a 13" X 9" cake pan. I take the dry cake mix and add to it 1 C chopped nuts and 1 C coconut. I don't mix the cake mixture up with the pineapple & cherry mixture, I just put the cake mixture on top of it. Then I take at least 1-2 sticks butter cut up and put on top of the cake mixture. I cook it for 50-60 minutes at 350 degrees or until golden brown. Its fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
So easy and delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
My oldest boy and I decided to make this together today but honestly, he was able to pretty much do it on his own with me watching. He did choose to mix the crushed pineapple and cherry pie filling together in a large bowl, then he poured it into a greased 9x13 glass baking dish. Our dump cake was done at just under 35 minutes. We let it cool just a touch, then served it with homemade vanilla frozen yogurt. This is crazy good. Super white-trash-cookbook style but most of your comfort food is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Made this for the first time and it came out perfect. Took to a pary and all loved it! I made only a few changes recommended by other reviewers....I used a 9x13 pan, layered the cherries, then pineapple (do not drain), then I added 1 cup of shredded coconut next followed by 1 cup of chopped pecans and lastly the box of yellow cake mix....Don't stir it all up....just leave in layers...then I used 2 sticks of butter...one I melted and poured over the cake mix and the other stick I sliced and layed in the spots where the melted butter didn't reach...this made it cook perfectly without any gaps of uncooked dried cake mix leftover as I have had in the past. Turned out absolutley perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I followed the advice of others and used a 9x13 glass baking dish. Instead of 1 cup butter I used 3/4 cup butter cut into small squares and evenly distributed on top of the dry cake mix. I baked it at 340 degrees for about 45 min. It was the perfect consistency and delicious. I took it to a pool party and there wasn't one crumb left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill P
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This was fantastic! The only changes I made were that I added some frozen cherries to the cherry pie filling, I used a 9x13 pan and baked it at 375 degrees. I definitely want to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States