Dump Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I make this recipe all the time with the following modifications: Use a 9x13 pan and use one stick of melted butter and drizzle it over the top of the cake mix. I have made it both with and without pineapple. My family actually prefers it with 2 cans of cherry pie filling and no pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaay
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I've been a fan of Dump Cake for years. I got the recipe from my grandmother when I inherited her recipe collection. I've never baked it in a bundt pan though, and since it's more like a cobbler than a cake I'm not sure why you would. I recommend using either a 9x13 inch pan or an 8-9 inch square pan. I think the sqaure pan works best as it makes the cake thicker. This is also good with pecans and coconut added in. It's great served warm or at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Very very very rich. You just can't eat too much at one time without loads of milk! I ate it with Cool Whip and it was great. Next time I'll add chopped nuts. I found I had to drain the pineapple otherwise it's too runny. I also used a greased 9x13 pan instead of bundt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
great recipe ! Did it for my kids cooking class and microwaved it for 9 min. covered and 9 min uncovered. You could always brown it under a broiler for a couple of min after that so it can look prettier. The kids were excited that they could make such a delicious dessert all by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I would call this recipe "edible" at best. I was really disappointed with the consistency. I'm not sure why you are suppose to make it in a bundt pan- don't you typically turn those over? I let it cool for 15 minutes before turning it out and it was a flood of gooey cake, cherries and pineapple all over my cake plate and counter. I was really disappointed. It seemed like a weird junk food concoction that someone would make up when they are craving sweets. I'd say skip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I love making this. It is so easy and tastes so good. I have made this several times and have never had a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CariMel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I was really excited to try this recipe, not only because of the great reviews, but a friend and my sister both have raved about dump cake. I followed the directions exactly, including using a bundt pan, and it never set up. There was just too much liquid. I baked it, checking regularly, for at least 2 hrs (covered the top with tin foil after it browned) and it was a disaster. I make plenty of scratch cakes and complicated desserts, so I didn't expect this outcome. Guess I'll have to stick with scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This tastes sooo good!! My grandma just recently showed me this recipe. She referred to it as a pie. it was made in a 9x13 in. pan and uses half the butter. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Good but to rich for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rickster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This was pretty tasty and very rich. It really does have to be eaten warm otherwise it's just not the same. I liked the flavour combinations alot. It reminded me of a cherry cobbler my mom used to make. Thanks for sharing a quick and simple dessert idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cardinal, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States