Dump Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I was really excited to try this recipe, not only because of the great reviews, but a friend and my sister both have raved about dump cake. I followed the directions exactly, including using a bundt pan, and it never set up. There was just too much liquid. I baked it, checking regularly, for at least 2 hrs (covered the top with tin foil after it browned) and it was a disaster. I make plenty of scratch cakes and complicated desserts, so I didn't expect this outcome. Guess I'll have to stick with scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This tastes sooo good!! My grandma just recently showed me this recipe. She referred to it as a pie. it was made in a 9x13 in. pan and uses half the butter. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Good but to rich for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rickster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This was pretty tasty and very rich. It really does have to be eaten warm otherwise it's just not the same. I liked the flavour combinations alot. It reminded me of a cherry cobbler my mom used to make. Thanks for sharing a quick and simple dessert idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cardinal, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This is SO yummy! I even halved the amount of butter called for, and it is still very rich! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I think this is just average; therefore, I gave it 3 stars. I must admit that my own ignorance regarding what a Dump Cake is supposed to taste like is partly to blame. It really is like a cobbler or if it's not supposed to be like a cobbler then I did something wrong. I ended up with a "crust" made of cake mix on top. Even though it turned out totally different than I was expecting (which is not the fault of the recipe provider), I can still only grant it 3 stars. My husband said absolutely nothing other than, "This smelled really good baking." I think that is his way of saying, "I wish this tasted as good as it smelled!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I made this in a 9 x 13 pan instead of the bundt pan, and I melted the butter, drizzling it on top of the cake before cooking. I would have liked nuts on it, but I didn't have any. It is delicious, thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This is really great and so easy to make.I used a 9 by 13 inch pan instead of a bundt pan and I topped it off with pecans and coconut. It turned out wonderful. I can't decide if I like it better warm or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I am known for using all my friends and family for guinea pigs, this recipe was made 15 of us and every single person-young and old-raved about this cake! Make sure to cover the cake mix with sliced butter/margerine to make it totally decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I followed the directions, which by the way was very easy, but my cake did not hold its shape. It fell apart when I flipped the pan to a plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States