Dump Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I never use apple pie filling so I substituted 4 medium diced apples. I put the frosting on, but found I like it better without. It just seemed too sweet. The frosting is awesome and I'll definitely use it on something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This recipe was a very big winner in my house. My husband is not much for cake, but he loved it and said it was one of the best that he has ever had. I did do a few things different though, instead of stirring the ingredients together I put them in a stand mixer on about medium speed, I also didn't use nuts or the icing. I used blueberry pie filling instead of apple and left out the cinnamon, baked it for about 45 min. in a glass pan. when it was done I sprinkled sugar on the top and put it in the broiler for about 2-3 min. and then let it cool for about 15 min. before cutting it. Needless to say the cake was gone within a matter of hours. I will be making this recipe again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I've been looking for a good dump cake recipe that doesn't rely on a cake mix and this is it. It is easy and gets rave reviews each time I make it. I usually opt for a pineapple cake instead of using apple pie filling. Simply use a can of crushed pineapple in place of the pie filling. Also, I omit the butter from the icing so it is not so rich. It still comes out creamy and delicius.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This was good. I made it exactly as the recipe states, no surprises! It reminded us a bit of carrot cake. My second time around, I wanted to make cupcakes (muffins?) I wouldn't recommend doing this for this recipe. Even though I greased the heck out of the muffin tin, they wouldn't stay in one piece to come out of the tin. They're fairly sticky (and still delicious). My solution was to flip them over and frost the bottoms so that there was something solid for them to stand on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Wonderful recipe, my family loves it and asks for it often. It comes out better when you double the apples and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Hall, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Absolutely delicious. This is a variation of a recipe my family has been using for decades. The only change we make is to double the cinnamon and omit the icing. I sometimes substitute a half recipe of the Apple Spice Mix found on this website, if I want to spice it up just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
We LOVED this cake. I had only a short time to come up with a dessert and wanted to use ingredients I had handy. Sooo, I used a raspberry pie filling instead of apple. I also used 1/2 wheat flour and 1/2 white flour. Another substitution was 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. The cake turned out perfectly. I baked it in a Pampered Chef 13x9 baker and it made the sides a little crunchy which we liked. The walnuts actually made the cake taste a little more like a sweet bread than cake. But it was delicious. The FROSTING was absolutely perfect the way the recipe called for. I going to use it now for my standard in frosting. It was so easy, made just enough and cheaper than store bought. Thanks so much for submitting this recipe. We really enjoyed it and so did our guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
YUMMY!!!! This was so amazing and moist. My whole family loved this cake and I gave a few pieces away to friends and they also raved about it. I will be serving this for Thanksgiving this year. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love4chocolate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Easy and tasty, though as advertised not the most attractive of deserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Very nice and earns what I call the "Nelly award"...my term for recipes both extremely delicious and extremely easy in honor of a dear lady whose cooking talents are second to none. I didn't use apple pie filling as I didn't have any (and don't really care for the canned variety) so I used a can of pineapple with a couple hefty tablespoons of apple jelly, then added a half cup or so of coconut and subbed vanilla for cinnamon. What surprised me was that it was almost universally well liked. I thought it would appeal more to a select few with the changes I made. Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States