Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
A classic I first tasted at Boy Scout Camp. Delicious anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made this last night for the first time (to take on a camping trip we're leaving for. I didnt have enough time to find the materials I needed to build an oven for the fire, and didnt think those toss-away metal tart cups would withstand the hot coals) and was a little skeptical after putting it into the Toaster Oven. How tart would it be? How would the cake/crumb turn out? I'll tell you...Not too shabby!! We had to sneak a taste before we leave! I added an additional can of Cherry pie filling (I used the lite version..and for some reason while I was at the store, I thought it called for 2 cans, not 1. Glad I added the 2nd can though!!) and mixed it together with the pineapple. Topped with the cake mix and chopped hazelnuts (grabbed the wrong item at the store. DOH!). Used 1/2 a stick of butter (1/4 cup), unmelted and cut into chunks. Since I was using Convection, I turned down the temp to 325. Let it bake for 40 minutes. Turned out wonderful!! Topped with some ice cream, beautiful! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This recipe is so easy and absolutley delicious! And the best part is you can substitute any fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Used to like this as a kid but it's waaay too sweet. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Delicious!!!!!!!!!!! I used a 20 oz can of chunk pineapples (with juice). My bag of walnuts was 6 oz., sprinkled half over the fruit, the other half over the cake mix. Used sliced margarine as per other reviews. I now make it into 2 desserts, only change is to use a round glass pie plate and also a square 9x9 glass pan. It looks more presentable than a 9x13 pan. Also this way I can call it a "Pineapple Cherry Crisp" rather than Dump Cake! I will now make these ingredients a staple in my pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
My mom would make this when I was a kid, and my husband and family love this cake now. I do use 3/4 cup of butter, but other than that it is a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancingdonna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This is sooooooo easy & so good! I've taken it to a couple parties/potlucks, and have received a lot of compliments! I followed the recipe exactly. I have had others that add coconut, but I am not a fan so I didn't include it. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
We love dump cake! It is so simple and quick to make!! Our version came from a dear friend of ours: using 20 oz can of Peach Pie filling and 21 oz can of crushed Pineapple (don't drain). Dump them in bottom of 9 X 13 and stir. Then layer the cake mix on top, do not stir. Use 1 1/2 stik melted butter to drizzle evenly over top of cake. We don't like nuts so leave them out. Fantastic!! Try this, you will not be disappointed, our guests always love it! **Warning, is really sweet with 1 1/2 stick of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minders

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I learned this recipe from my MIL. As many other reviews state, we mix the pineapple and cherry pie filling together, then sprinkle the cake mix on top of that and place slices of cold butter across the entire thing. This makes the topping so rich and so good! We also like to serve this with ice cream. Easy dessert + fairly cheap + loved by all = successful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This reminds me of pineapple upside down cake. I think next time I may add coconut, however this was really good and lasted about 2 hours in my house, before the whole pan was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IBMISSY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States