Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was awesome! Everyone loves it and it seems like I toiled for hours making it. I use canned apples, canned pineapple and some fresh apples. I also added cinnamon. Ummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LA baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is a wonderful, easy cake! Its a big hit everytime I make it. The only things I do differently is I use fresh pineapple. Ever since I had my first fresh, I refuse to use canned. Makes a huge difference! So if you have the time and patience to cut a pineapple, go for it! I don't mix the fruit together or cake mix with the fruit. If you mix everything, its no longer called "DUMP"! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
made this for my husband to take to work (we had to check Wikipedia to find some random thing to celebrate with Dump Cake, lol!). within 15 minutes of my hubby getting to work, i had an e-mail complementing the cake. lol! i think it took more effort to send off the e-mail than it did for me to make the cake. only adjustment.....pecans instead of walnuts. true GRITS here. oh, cake was destroyed. i didn't even get to taste it! well, i guess that's a great complement. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
When I make this I don't mix the cherry pie filling and pineapples - dump cherries then dump crushed pineapple and juice - spread out - dump cake mike and don't mix, just spread evenly, top with walnuts pieces, top with 1 1/2 sticks of butter pats and bake - YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I just took the cake out of the oven. Not impressed with the way it looks or tastes. I now realize why(after reading the reviews)...I was not supposed to mix the cake mix and cherry/pineapple together. After reading the reviews now, I hear many people stating that. SOOO--I am giving this recipe only two stars since I do not think it was written correctly and now I am left with a cake thats not as good as its supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
A classic I first tasted at Boy Scout Camp. Delicious anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made this last night for the first time (to take on a camping trip we're leaving for. I didnt have enough time to find the materials I needed to build an oven for the fire, and didnt think those toss-away metal tart cups would withstand the hot coals) and was a little skeptical after putting it into the Toaster Oven. How tart would it be? How would the cake/crumb turn out? I'll tell you...Not too shabby!! We had to sneak a taste before we leave! I added an additional can of Cherry pie filling (I used the lite version..and for some reason while I was at the store, I thought it called for 2 cans, not 1. Glad I added the 2nd can though!!) and mixed it together with the pineapple. Topped with the cake mix and chopped hazelnuts (grabbed the wrong item at the store. DOH!). Used 1/2 a stick of butter (1/4 cup), unmelted and cut into chunks. Since I was using Convection, I turned down the temp to 325. Let it bake for 40 minutes. Turned out wonderful!! Topped with some ice cream, beautiful! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This recipe is so easy and absolutley delicious! And the best part is you can substitute any fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Used to like this as a kid but it's waaay too sweet. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Delicious!!!!!!!!!!! I used a 20 oz can of chunk pineapples (with juice). My bag of walnuts was 6 oz., sprinkled half over the fruit, the other half over the cake mix. Used sliced margarine as per other reviews. I now make it into 2 desserts, only change is to use a round glass pie plate and also a square 9x9 glass pan. It looks more presentable than a 9x13 pan. Also this way I can call it a "Pineapple Cherry Crisp" rather than Dump Cake! I will now make these ingredients a staple in my pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States