Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I tried this recipe and it turned out horribly. It was nothing like I thought it would be. My mother use to bake this dish but I never got the recipe before she passed. I thoght this dish would taste as great but I was mistaken. My family hated it too. I followed the directions to a "T"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I didn't have any Cherries so I used Pineapple chunks AND their juice. I also cut the butter onto the top instead of melting and pouring.Turned out wonderfully! I will be making this again..probably without the cherries too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LawyerChef11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This cake is AWESOME!! I admit I had my doubts at first. I used a 20oz can of crushed pineapple and lite cherry pie filling. I don't like nuts so I didn't add them. I didn't melt the butter either--I thinly sliced 1 1/2 sticks of butter over the top. I had to bake the cake a little longer for about 50 minutes, probably because I added the extra pineapple. My husband and his friend LOVED it!! His friend even asked me for the recipe so he can make it too! THANK YOU! This will be a good "go to" recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This really didn't turn out well for me. I did slightly stir the cake mix in and maybe I shouldn't have. I used lite cherry filling which was o.k. The cake was basically flat and not a pretty thing to look at - at all. My husband took one look at it and wouldn't even try it. I gave it 3 stars because my sons said it tasted alright and it was the easiest thing I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaay
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I've been a fan of Dump Cake for years. I got the recipe from my grandmother when I inherited her recipe collection. I recommend using either a 9x13 inch pan or an 8-9 inch square pan. I think the sqaure pan works best as it makes the cake thicker. This is also good with coconut added in. It's great served warm or at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I made this recipe twice and it ever turned out like I had before when someone else made it. I will not use this recipe again and will keep looking for a better one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Solomon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This was okay--wasn't what I expected. This was more like bread pudding. Maybe I should have baked it longer? I didn't put the walnuts on because my son is allergic. Maybe walnuts would have made it a lot better. Also, it probably made a big difference that I used soy margarine rather than butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdfacc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Michigan City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I let my 9 year old daughter make this. It was so easy for her to do. We melted 1/2 stick of butter in pan first then dumped cherry pie filling then pineapple then sprinkled yellow cake mix on top. Then she very thinnly sliced 1 stick of butter and covered top of dry cake mix, then sprinkled pecan chips on top.........it was out of this world my 7 yr. old loved it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Sorry, I thought this cake was just okay. It was good, but not great and definitely not anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I LOVE this recipe! It is very easy and tastes so good! Every time I make it, I get compliments and asked for copies of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States