Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This is so quick and easy and tasty! I was looking for a recipe for dump cake that my aunt made years ago - it was the best. This recipe was really close and excellent. I made a few changes (as per what I remembered of my aunt's recipe). I used pecans instead of walnuts and also put the butter in sliced pats on tope of the cake before baking. My aunt also sometimes added two cans of pie filling - sometimes blueberry and cherry side by side. All in all, a great recipe - I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This cake was so esy to make and so yummy . I did mix the pineapple and cherry pie filling together, then spread on the bottom of the pan. Then added dry cake mix on top, without mixing into fruit. Walnuts on top of cake mix then one and a half sticks of butter, cut into this pats all over the top. Makes your mouth water. Thanks for sharing your recepie. Kimmilu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmilu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
this was very good i used blueberry pie filling and a 20oz can of pineapple increased the butter to 3/4 cup and used pecans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
4 1/2 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
My family LOVED this one! For yummy pineapple flavor I used a pineapple cake mix - it was delicious! Super easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I made this recipe thinking only myself and my husband will eat it not the kids. Boy was I wrong, they ate the whole thig within 2 hours of me making it. Easy. Great to make and take somewhere too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This is the easiest and richest dessert to come out of an oven. We used to do this over the coals in the dutch oven too when camping. Very very rich, very sweet, a small portion goes a long way. I served this with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream. The best part is this is served warm so not much waiting involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I am giving this 5 stars because I have never found a dump cake that I liked but I really LOVE this one. I added a can of drained tart pie cherries to the cherry pie filling and used a 20 oz can of pineapple, I have also made it with a small can and I couldnt tell the difference. I like to add about 2-3 tbsp. of lemon juice as well. I mixed about 1/3c. or so of the cake mix in with the filling just to give it some body. Then poured the rest of the cake mix on top. I just patted the butter on top but I did use a stick and a half instead of just one. I am making this again tonight, yum!! I think I might sprinkle just a little bit of cinnamon on the top right about 10 min. before its done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blue Ridge, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
The only change I make is by using pecans instead of walnuts. This cake has been around a long time ....always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Delicious. I received many compliments at the gathering I took this to. One guy told me it was his favorite dessert of all that was brought. Thanks for an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslisashoe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States