Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I made this recipe thinking only myself and my husband will eat it not the kids. Boy was I wrong, they ate the whole thig within 2 hours of me making it. Easy. Great to make and take somewhere too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This is the easiest and richest dessert to come out of an oven. We used to do this over the coals in the dutch oven too when camping. Very very rich, very sweet, a small portion goes a long way. I served this with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream. The best part is this is served warm so not much waiting involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I am giving this 5 stars because I have never found a dump cake that I liked but I really LOVE this one. I added a can of drained tart pie cherries to the cherry pie filling and used a 20 oz can of pineapple, I have also made it with a small can and I couldnt tell the difference. I like to add about 2-3 tbsp. of lemon juice as well. I mixed about 1/3c. or so of the cake mix in with the filling just to give it some body. Then poured the rest of the cake mix on top. I just patted the butter on top but I did use a stick and a half instead of just one. I am making this again tonight, yum!! I think I might sprinkle just a little bit of cinnamon on the top right about 10 min. before its done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blue Ridge, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
The only change I make is by using pecans instead of walnuts. This cake has been around a long time ....always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Delicious. I received many compliments at the gathering I took this to. One guy told me it was his favorite dessert of all that was brought. Thanks for an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslisashoe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I tried this recipe and it turned out horribly. It was nothing like I thought it would be. My mother use to bake this dish but I never got the recipe before she passed. I thoght this dish would taste as great but I was mistaken. My family hated it too. I followed the directions to a "T"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I didn't have any Cherries so I used Pineapple chunks AND their juice. I also cut the butter onto the top instead of melting and pouring.Turned out wonderfully! I will be making this again..probably without the cherries too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LawyerChef11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This cake is AWESOME!! I admit I had my doubts at first. I used a 20oz can of crushed pineapple and lite cherry pie filling. I don't like nuts so I didn't add them. I didn't melt the butter either--I thinly sliced 1 1/2 sticks of butter over the top. I had to bake the cake a little longer for about 50 minutes, probably because I added the extra pineapple. My husband and his friend LOVED it!! His friend even asked me for the recipe so he can make it too! THANK YOU! This will be a good "go to" recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This really didn't turn out well for me. I did slightly stir the cake mix in and maybe I shouldn't have. I used lite cherry filling which was o.k. The cake was basically flat and not a pretty thing to look at - at all. My husband took one look at it and wouldn't even try it. I gave it 3 stars because my sons said it tasted alright and it was the easiest thing I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaay
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I've been a fan of Dump Cake for years. I got the recipe from my grandmother when I inherited her recipe collection. I recommend using either a 9x13 inch pan or an 8-9 inch square pan. I think the sqaure pan works best as it makes the cake thicker. This is also good with coconut added in. It's great served warm or at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 131-140 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States