Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I, too, have made this for years. Sometimes I leave the pineapple out, and just do a can of pie filling, sometimes I add a little bit of pineapple. I use an 8x8 square pan, and small box (9 oz) of the yellow cake mix. (There is only 2 of us, and it lasts for days.) I use a little less than one stick of butter, and grate it into the cake mix, tossing them together. I usually throw a small handful of brown sugar in with the cake mix and butter. Then just sprinkle it all over the top, DON'T mix it with the fruit. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was the first cake I ever made! Been making this for years. I dump my cherries, then my pineapple, use a butter knife and swirl it lightly together, sprinkle the mix on top and pat with butter. Warm or cold, always delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA
Living In: Odessa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I ate my cake with some vanilla ice cream. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Love this recipe. The pineapple and cherries with walnuts!!YUM!! I even used a cake made from scratch turned out nicely. I had to make sure the dry cake mix was wet with the juices from the pineapple/cherries excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
The recipe was as simple as it can get. I would combine the cake mix with the fruit. I just put the mix on top and used about 1 stick of butter on top. Great recipe my wife loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I have been looking for this recipe for ages. My mother-in-law made this same dessert and when she passed away, I couldn't find it. It is an amazing dessert. I only gave it 4 stars because you should NOT mix the wet ingredients with the cake mix. You just mix the fruit and then top with cake mix and butter. Using pats of butter rather than melted is better as well. Love this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Made this for a quick dessert after I realized that the dessert I made the other day had vanished and company was coming in 1 hour. Very easy to make. Tasted like I had spent way more than 5 minutes prepping it to cook. I did thinly shave the butter to cover the cake rather than melting it. A word of caution, this is a very rich dessert. Serve small portions. Did not need any ice cream/whipped cream as it was so rich/sweet already. I will probably make this again for a dessert in a pinch but it really was too rich for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I really enjoy making this cake, its quick and easy and fun to eat. super sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Following the advice of other reviewers, I didn't mix the fruit with the cake mix before baking. I ended up with a lot of dry cake mix in the middle. But the taste was absolutely great, just very sweet, so start with small portions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This is a wonderful dessert and I have made it for years. You can change the fruits to suit your taste and it will still turn out as good. Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States