Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I like to use the Tastefully Simple Almond Pound Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Cooked this for a guy friend of mines and he adored it. I personally thought it was a little too sweet but nothing a cup of water can't handle and probably getting less sugar fruits as well. Turned out absolutely gorgeous.. Make sure to add the butter all over the yellow cake mix so it can cook faster!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
SOOOOO good for the amount of effort that goes into making this desert. I did end up using 2 cans of cherry pie filling, glad I bought two from the store! My daughter pretty much made this by herslef alls I did was open the ingredients and cut up the butter, I didn't melt it she just put pats of butter all over the top. The walnuts are very yummy on this. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Not my favorite dump cake. I definitely prefer just the basic Peach Cobbler dump cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLASSGIRL25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I made this cake for my husband's birthday tonight and he loved it. It was big hit with my kids as well. I followed everyone's advice and did not mix the cake mix with the fruit. I also put 1 1/2 sticks worth of butter pats on top like many people suggested. I'll probably make it without the walnuts next time but that's the only thing I would change. Thanks for the great (and simple) recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
So good! I served it to a friend who usually makes very elaborate, delicious desert -- and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Apa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dianasaurusrex
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I didn't have cherry filling, so used peach instead. Still a great combo with the pineapple. I didn't blend in the cake mix, just topped the fruit mixture with it and covered it with pats of butter (about 1 stick for a 9x9 pan). Baked for 50 min, as it was still soggy at 35 min. Came out great with a crusty top, but a little on the sweet side. Didn't have walnuts, but I think it would have been delicious. I might use fresh blueberries with the crushed pineapple next time. Would be just as easy to make, but with fresh fruit and less sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianasaurusrex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
A friend made this for my birthday and I loved it!! It's very easy to put together but after 40 min. the cake was not baked through...in fact it was runny, I had to bake it an extra 25 minutes!! Not sure what happened. I live about 4000 ft above sea level but so does my friend. after all that it was still good...but the baking time I think is off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I, too, have made this for years. Sometimes I leave the pineapple out, and just do a can of pie filling, sometimes I add a little bit of pineapple. I use an 8x8 square pan, and small box (9 oz) of the yellow cake mix. (There is only 2 of us, and it lasts for days.) I use a little less than one stick of butter, and grate it into the cake mix, tossing them together. I usually throw a small handful of brown sugar in with the cake mix and butter. Then just sprinkle it all over the top, DON'T mix it with the fruit. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was the first cake I ever made! Been making this for years. I dump my cherries, then my pineapple, use a butter knife and swirl it lightly together, sprinkle the mix on top and pat with butter. Warm or cold, always delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA
Living In: Odessa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States