Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Like others said this recipe is calculated wrong. Based on what I read in other reviews I did the following: 1: 2 regular cans of cherry pie filling. 2: I did not have crushed pineapple so I used 1 large can of pineapple chunks (drained) and pulsed it in my food processor till I got it into small bits. 3: 1/2 cup of butter cut into small thin pats on top. I went ahead and mixed the cake mix in with the cherries and the pineapple. I baked it for 40 min but felt it needed more time. I took it out of the oven and placed a half a stick of butter pats on top and broiled for 6 minutes (be sure to watch it so it does not burn). This gave it a nice dark crust on top. I found that broiling the final butter adds a sweet salty flavor that brings out this great dessert. I gave it 4 stars because the recipe was off but the concept gets 5 stars, Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I use Strawberry Pie filling and toasted pecans! YUMMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Martin, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I'm not a fan of cherries so I use a can of blackberry pie filling instead. It's even better! My family and I absolutely love our custom version and I have experimented with blueberry and strawberry pie filling as well. I also use 1 cup of butter on the top. Totally worth the added fat. This recipe is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I do not use the walnuts. (Personal Preference) and this dessert is sooo good. I've also used it as a brunch coffee cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VanessaKay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
easy love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
OMG!!! Soooo good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I remember my mother making this when I was young and was very pleased to find the recipe. I put the cake mix on top of the cherry-pineapple mixture and didn't mix them and then dotted it with pats of butter. It was just like I remembered from my childhood. It's a very sweet and rich desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This is the best and easiest recipe ever! It is always a hit at potlucks and always completely gone. I add one can of drained pitted tart cherries to the pie filling to cut the sweetness a little. I put the dry cake mix on top, then top with chopped pecans. I put pats of butter on top instead of melted butter. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I discovered this recipe here and it is so easy and delicious. I changed the fruit from pineapple to fruit cocktail and cherries then followed the given instructions for this recipe. It was delicious. It can be eaten with ice cream or whipped cream. I give it 5 stars for ease and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States