Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This was semi okay. The butter didn't cover the entire top so there were large spots of powdered cake mix all over. I think using more butter would solve that problem but I won't make it again to find out. It wasn't too sweet for me and the pineapple cherry combo works well. It's really just the cake topping and the butter on top that I didn't care for. I love cake but evidently not dump cake. It's edible and I will eat it so it won't go to waste. My husband refused to even try it since the powdered cake mix didn't look appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Like others said this recipe is calculated wrong. Based on what I read in other reviews I did the following: 1: 2 regular cans of cherry pie filling. 2: I did not have crushed pineapple so I used 1 large can of pineapple chunks (drained) and pulsed it in my food processor till I got it into small bits. 3: 1/2 cup of butter cut into small thin pats on top. I went ahead and mixed the cake mix in with the cherries and the pineapple. I baked it for 40 min but felt it needed more time. I took it out of the oven and placed a half a stick of butter pats on top and broiled for 6 minutes (be sure to watch it so it does not burn). This gave it a nice dark crust on top. I found that broiling the final butter adds a sweet salty flavor that brings out this great dessert. I gave it 4 stars because the recipe was off but the concept gets 5 stars, Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I use Strawberry Pie filling and toasted pecans! YUMMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Martin, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I'm not a fan of cherries so I use a can of blackberry pie filling instead. It's even better! My family and I absolutely love our custom version and I have experimented with blueberry and strawberry pie filling as well. I also use 1 cup of butter on the top. Totally worth the added fat. This recipe is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I do not use the walnuts. (Personal Preference) and this dessert is sooo good. I've also used it as a brunch coffee cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VanessaKay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
easy love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
OMG!!! Soooo good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I remember my mother making this when I was young and was very pleased to find the recipe. I put the cake mix on top of the cherry-pineapple mixture and didn't mix them and then dotted it with pats of butter. It was just like I remembered from my childhood. It's a very sweet and rich desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This is the best and easiest recipe ever! It is always a hit at potlucks and always completely gone. I add one can of drained pitted tart cherries to the pie filling to cut the sweetness a little. I put the dry cake mix on top, then top with chopped pecans. I put pats of butter on top instead of melted butter. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States