Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
We love dump cake. We first discovered this as something that can be done over a fire in a Dutch oven whilst camping. Only changes I make are using canned tart cherries instead of pie filling (balances the sweetness) and serve it warm in a bowl with a bit of cold cream poured over (ice cream doesn't like camping!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
i use 21 oz apple pie filling instead of pinapple with no nuts. i mix the cake and filling together and i use a stick and 1/2 of real butter serve it hot and we love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
So many compliments always. With or without walnuts. The crunchy top always baffles people when I tell them its yellow cake mix/butter. Adding a scoop of vanilla ice cream or whip cream is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was extremely easy, but wasn't a favorite of mine. The flavors were simply okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This is an easy recipe, and I followed the entire thing, omitting the walnuts. However, it seemed like it took almost an hour or more to bake. I've seen it made before, and the topping was nice and crusty. Mine didnt turn out crusty, and it seemed like the top was still dry where the butter wasn't covered. It was still delicious, but next time I think i'll put less cake mix on, or use butter pads instead of melting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Delish and easy to make! The only thing I do differently is freeze a stick of butter and then use a grater to make it shred evenly over the dish!! Works much easier even then cutting the butter and trying to lay it out evenly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungrymama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
The texture is weird if made as written. It's like eating raw cake batter and I even cooked it 10 extra minutes to get it to "dry". After reading all 167 reviews, I think I may do as one or two have mentioned which is NOT STIR THE CAKE MIX WITH FRUIT JUST UNTIL COMBINED. I guess, I WON"T STIR THEM AT ALL. Made per instructions, this was very soggy and extremely sweet. I will try it again not mixing to see if it fixes the problem and use sugar free fruits. I'm surprised that only one or two commented on this. I hate to give bad reviews, sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This has been a family favorite for us since I was a kid. We don't put nuts in it - this is a "less is more" kind of dessert. Just a can of cherry pie filling, a can of crushed pineapple, pour the dry yellow cake mix on top, then put pads of butter (a whole stick's worth) across the top. Fantastic hot with ice cream, but even better cold for breakfast. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This cake is very easy, super quick, but just OK. Nothing wonderful or spectacular. I couldn't say this is a good cake recipe for when I don't have eggs because I don't normally have pie filling on hand. I stirred the butter and pineapple juice into the cake batter and spread it on top to avoid the dry spots others complained about. The cake is a bit crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States