Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I use a can of dark, sweet pitted cherries instead of pie filling. Not so sweet and goes great with the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I used a stick of butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was such a wonderful treat the only thing different I did was I added 1/2 stick more of butter and I used pecans instead of walnuts b/c that's what I had on hand . This is very,very good thank you so much for sharing it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I make this with so many different combinations apple pie filling, peaches and pecans and even just today making it with apricots, raisins and walnuts. So easy and versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This sounds like something that would give you a really fat ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
We used white cake mix and chose not to use walnuts. Served it warm with French Vanilla Ice Cream and it was enjoyed by everyone. A bit sweet for me but other 4 family members said they liked the fruity flavor mixed with the cold ice cream and warm cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is the easiest and most versatile recipe out there. Been making it for years and the great thing is you really can't mess it up. You can change the cake mix and pie filling to whatever you want, for instance I used spice cake mix with the apple (or peach) pie filling, lemon with blueberry and chocolate with cherry. It's whatever combination you like. I didn't melt the butter, my original recipe called for pats of butter on top so I just cut the butter in pats and cover the top! it usually takes a little over 2 sticks of butter - so no real measuring or other pans involved. It's always a hit at gatherings. Yum yum :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
MAKE SURE YOU USE UNSALTED BUTTER!! I made the mistake of using salted butter and it messed up the whole cake. The liquids were retained and the cake turned out a gooey mushy mess! I look forward to trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I make a variation of this...we use different kinds of pie filling I like it with pineapple and blueberry. But my favorite is Blueberry and Apple Pie filling and no pineapple butter recipe cake from Duncan Hines. It is to total indulgence no matter what...around here we like to serve it as an ice cream topping straight out of the oven!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Maybe I over mixed the cake mix with the fruit although it did look like what the video showed, but I think something went wrong. I definitely would NOT call this a cake. No way could this be cut to put on a plate, more like "eat it with a spoon out of a bowl". The flavor was good, but didn't care for the consistency, and it looked nothing like the finished product in the video. Disappointed and won't do a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States