Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I have used this recipe for several years but I do it a little differently. I mix the cherrie pie filling and crushed pineapples together then dump the dry cake mix on top and make sure it's evenly spread, but, I don't mix it with the fruit on the bottom - I just leave it on top. Then, I cut a stick-and-a-half of butter into small pats and arrange on the top of the cake and stick in the oven. This is sooo delicious - I can't stop eating it! Be sure to use butter instead of margarine, too, because it gives it a certain taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
959 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I first received a recipe like this for dump cake 3 years ago at my bridal shower. I was skeptical at how easy it looked and wondered how it would taste. It is absolutely unbelievable!!! By far one of my favorite desserts now. The only things I do different is use a 20 oz. can of crushed pineapple (you really need that size, a 15 oz. would not spread over the 9x13 pan), lite cherry pie filling instead of regular (cuts down on the sugar a bit, but you won't even taste the difference), omit the nuts and use 3/4 (1 1/2 sticks) cup butter, sliced over the top. Don't melt the butter in the microwave and pour over.....slice it in pats across the top of the cake mix and let the oven melt it. This allows for even browning. I took this to a Christmas party last night and people were going back for seconds and thirds, and someone requested that I email the recipe first thing in the morning. There you have it - cheap, easy, and delicious, what more do you need to try it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
513 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Dump cake doesn't sound good, but it is! It took me like 5 minutes to put together, and it was so yummy! I let it sit for about 30 minutes before we tried it, and it was great. Reminded me of a fruit crisp. It's good cold, but I like it best warm with some vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Delish and easy to make! The only thing I do differently is freeze a stick of butter and then use a grater to make it shred evenly over the dish!! Works much easier even then cutting the butter and trying to lay it out evenly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungrymama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
I used chocolate cax mix and it turned out very well. It smells like a chocolate covered cherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
One of my favorite "in a rush" recipes for potlucks. This is a really yummy cake that everyone raves about. And, the best thing is how easy it is to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLMATHEO

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
This recipe is my favorite along with my boss, which I make every year for his b-day. The amount of butter seems like too little when you pour it on, but it does come out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2001
This was not too bad...My kids thought that it was too sweet - almost sickly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Orianne Vincent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Granby, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This is a great dessert BUT you do need to make some changes. Mine is not sickly sweet as others have mentioned because I use pineapple in JUICE and I use Comstock NO SUGAR ADDED Cherry Pie Filling - that is the secret! Also, use 2 sticks of melted butter and drizzle on top using a big spoon. I have never had pieces of dry cake in the finished product. Try these changes and I think you will see a HUGE difference! It is the best served a bit warm with vanilla ice cream - well, that is what my 22 yr. old son says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
The combination of cherry and pineapple is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States