Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
When I make this I don't mix the cherry pie filling and pineapples - dump cherries then dump crushed pineapple and juice - spread out - dump cake mike and don't mix, just spread evenly, top with walnuts pieces, top with 1 1/2 sticks of butter pats and bake - YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I just took the cake out of the oven. Not impressed with the way it looks or tastes. I now realize why(after reading the reviews)...I was not supposed to mix the cake mix and cherry/pineapple together. After reading the reviews now, I hear many people stating that. SOOO--I am giving this recipe only two stars since I do not think it was written correctly and now I am left with a cake thats not as good as its supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
A classic I first tasted at Boy Scout Camp. Delicious anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made this last night for the first time (to take on a camping trip we're leaving for. I didnt have enough time to find the materials I needed to build an oven for the fire, and didnt think those toss-away metal tart cups would withstand the hot coals) and was a little skeptical after putting it into the Toaster Oven. How tart would it be? How would the cake/crumb turn out? I'll tell you...Not too shabby!! We had to sneak a taste before we leave! I added an additional can of Cherry pie filling (I used the lite version..and for some reason while I was at the store, I thought it called for 2 cans, not 1. Glad I added the 2nd can though!!) and mixed it together with the pineapple. Topped with the cake mix and chopped hazelnuts (grabbed the wrong item at the store. DOH!). Used 1/2 a stick of butter (1/4 cup), unmelted and cut into chunks. Since I was using Convection, I turned down the temp to 325. Let it bake for 40 minutes. Turned out wonderful!! Topped with some ice cream, beautiful! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This recipe is so easy and absolutley delicious! And the best part is you can substitute any fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Used to like this as a kid but it's waaay too sweet. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Delicious!!!!!!!!!!! I used a 20 oz can of chunk pineapples (with juice). My bag of walnuts was 6 oz., sprinkled half over the fruit, the other half over the cake mix. Used sliced margarine as per other reviews. I now make it into 2 desserts, only change is to use a round glass pie plate and also a square 9x9 glass pan. It looks more presentable than a 9x13 pan. Also this way I can call it a "Pineapple Cherry Crisp" rather than Dump Cake! I will now make these ingredients a staple in my pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
My mom would make this when I was a kid, and my husband and family love this cake now. I do use 3/4 cup of butter, but other than that it is a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancingdonna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This is sooooooo easy & so good! I've taken it to a couple parties/potlucks, and have received a lot of compliments! I followed the recipe exactly. I have had others that add coconut, but I am not a fan so I didn't include it. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
We love dump cake! It is so simple and quick to make!! Our version came from a dear friend of ours: using 20 oz can of Peach Pie filling and 21 oz can of crushed Pineapple (don't drain). Dump them in bottom of 9 X 13 and stir. Then layer the cake mix on top, do not stir. Use 1 1/2 stik melted butter to drizzle evenly over top of cake. We don't like nuts so leave them out. Fantastic!! Try this, you will not be disappointed, our guests always love it! **Warning, is really sweet with 1 1/2 stick of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minders

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States