Dump Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I've used this recipe a couple times and it always a hit! Everyone loves the texture, right in between chewy and cakey. AND it's a fast & easy recipe. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
These turned out fantastically! Very moist, and did not have the problem as some others of chocolate chips sinking. If you follow the directions EXACTLY they should turn out fine. Many of the poor reviews are from people who admittedly did not follow directions, which is disappointing. This recipe does not deserve bad reviews at all! Yes, they are more cakelike, but they are called Dump Bars, not brownies. I realize the submitter said they were the best brownies, but they're not really intended to be. I happen to enjoy fluffier, cakelike textures so this was a perfect in-between. To the person who said they weren't sweet enough, it's because of all the extra cocoa powder you used. Cocoa powder is BITTER (try eating it by itself!) Next time, everyone, follow the recipe and they will be great! You should all try again if you didn't like it. Also, I did try another time as well with half the chocolate chips mixed into the batter and the other half on top as others suggested and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Made this last night for movie night. Delicious! I was short about 3 tbsp of enough vegetable oil but went with what I had and they turned out so good. We will definitely make these again. YUMMO to the TUMMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I have made these for years and my family loves them. Only thing I do different is what I was taught with this recipe years ago: they are called dump bars...no need to mix things seperately! Just "dump" it all in one bowl and mix with a spoon not a mixer. I also make mine with mini choc chips instead of the standard sized ones, to me they turn out much better with that one change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Could taste the cocoa, but good otherwise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Great recipe and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I used a tad more flour (1.5 cups) per another reviewer's suggestion, used an 8x12 pan because I like slightly thicker brownies, and baked them for the full 35 minutes. We had friends over that night. The wife, who looks like she's about 95 pounds, usually skips desserts or eats just a little to be polite. She ate three of these brownies. I absolutely love the flavor, texture, and everything else. I agree with the reviewer who wrote, "I'm never making package brownies again."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Very good! My whole family loved them! However, next time I will bake them at 325, rather than 350. They outsides were a little dry and burnt, and the insides were fudge-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WinterWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Morristown, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
These are yummy and easy. They are a cake brownie, not a fudgy brownie. I love the cake brownie so I was very happy with this recipe. I only put in 1 1/2 cups sugar and it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States