Dulcia Domestica Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
My friends and family LOVE these. I now have to keep dates on my shopping list as it is so often requested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I give 5 * for flavour, but I'd deduct one * for the time-consuming preparations. We enjoyed these with the peppery honey glaze... it does lend a touch. Great, unusual snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lengnau, Aargau, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
This recipe was sooooo good, I loved the aroma of the dates, pinenuts and the wine as it was cooking. It was a nice after dinner treat. stuffing the dates was not so bad as long as you don't chop the nuts to fine. Thank you for a wonderful recipe. Most certainly worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
A little unusual at first, but very addictive. In the future, I'll just stir in the pine nuts. Stuffing the dates is what takes up all of your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by t_jones
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Very good , everyone liked them. My only gripe is that they stuck to that pan and the plate ......... they needed to be pried off with a knife ! Maybe my ratio of honey was off so I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I was a little hesitant, but after reading other's reviews, I thought I'd give it a whirl. And boy, am I glad I did! I made this for an event I 'catered', and was thrilled with the flavor of the dates. I do not, as a rule, like dates, but as I 'tested' one, I almost decided to keep them all to myself! The pine nuts add a great flavor, and the honey is divine. I had no problems with anything sticking. I also had to reheat, as I made them the night before, but had no issues there either: I cooked them for less time than necessary, then finished the product the following evening. They went quickly, and I definitely plan on making them for my annual Christmas party! Must be served hot for best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This was very good. I got rave reviews from the folks at the party I took it to. Very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Very tasty. Except for stuffing the dates it was extremely easy. (even stuffing the dates was not hard, just time consuming). Everyone at our little get together loved them (except for the children).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKBRECK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Oh my! I thought this was just going to be an "okay" recipe. It looked bland; but, as I am a sucker for trying something different, I had to give it a go. Quelle surprise! This is full of flavor - not boring or bland at all... still delicious even if you cheap-out, like I did, and buy the least expensive pignoli available. (Wasn't spending a lot on an experimental dish) Highly recommended. Amending review 12/27/08 - Tried it with Agave nectar -dark- tonight. YUMMMMMM! Even better than the honey. But honey is historically accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Amazing! The little pepper "bite" is perfect. Worth the time for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States