Dulce de Leche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I saw that some one spent a lot of time and money on this recipe and said it didn't work. I make this recipe and it took AGES because I used very low heat - almost 6 hours or so. I have since made it using higher heat and it did not take as long. If you are using very low heat, it WILL work, but it will take a while. Try making 1/2 the recipe to see if you like it - or even 1/4 recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I had great success making this recipe. I did cut it into 1/4. I used skim milk and a deep heavy pan. I cooked it at a rolling boil stirring vigorously. It was very thick when it was done and would be delicious even thinner on cake or sweet bread. I will just have to take it off sooner. I did eliminate the ice bath and it set up just fine. I took about 1/2 and hour from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLSQUIRES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Very time consuming BUT delicious! I literally needed to use up a gallon milk and this was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Much easier way to make this recipe is just to pour a can of sweetened condensed milk into a canning jar with a lid, no other ingredients, then set the jar in a simmering pot of water for 2-2 1/2 hours. Just make sure the water level stays at least where the milk level in the jar is. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cozad, Nebraska, USA
Living In: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Thank you for the wonderful recipe. I had a ton of fun making this! I halved the recipe and it took about 45 minutes just over medium. I think I may have over-stirred the mixture though because it had a lot of little bubbles in it. It didn't affect the taste though! Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This is absolutely delicious, I was worried it wouldn't thicken then all of the sudden it changed a beautiful gold colour and began to thicken to a perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Great recipe! After a long time of stirring i was about to become frustrated because it wasn't thickening, but I kept my patience. I turned the heat up a little bit and I just kept stirring! I think stirring is the key! I also substituted the bean for vanilla extract. It worked out just as well. We were very pleased with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keanu
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I first made dulce de leche in high school as a Spanish 3 project. We were told to use 2cups sugar and one cup milk as the ratio and plan on spending the evening stirring the pot and reading our English book for the week. I've mad it ever since as it is indeed addictive. It does take 2-3 hours from start to finish but is worth it. I bought various brands while in Spain on vacation and they did differ slightly. I'm going to have to try this with the baking soda and see if its any different. It makes a wonderful gift for anyone with a sweet tooth. Also wonderful added to hot apple cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Watts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eliot, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and this came out great. It would have to be a very special occasion for me to make this again. I stirred for over 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
mine turned out very clumpy. perhaps, as my argentine wife warned, i had to stir constantly, which i didn't. she did say that this is one of those things more worth just buying than making as the milk ('artisinal' milk i bought from a local farm at nearly $5 a quart) was pricey, and the work was long. i didnt stir enough, my bad. i guess the argentines have even learned that its easier to buy than to make unless you've very dedicated for 3+ hours. i will say that i had goat's milk d.d.l. in the north of argentina that was very good (gamey of course). so you might try this as its slightly different, and something you cannot just buy in the states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Dulce de Leche

Turn sweetened condensed milk into a delicious caramel sauce.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States