Dulce de Leche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
this is a good recipe. when they say large saucepan,they mean at least a 12 qt pot. I used an 8qt and It still boiled over. and at a higher altitude (Denver), it took almost 2 hours tp reach the right consistency. I haven't decided if it's worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Thank you soooooo much for this recipe!!! is just perfect. I didn't have vanilla bean so I just used vanilla concentrate. I cooked on medium high heat and it didn't stick on the bottom. I mixed continually at the beginning until the milk did not bubble any more , after that I just stir here and there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was creamy and fantastic. I've never had pure dulce de leche - only dulce de leche ice cream. I had to make some modifications based upon what I had on hand. I used 4 cups heavy cream, 4 cups skim milk, 2 tsp. vanilla extract, 2 1/4 C sugar, and 1/2 tsp. baking soda. Otherwise I followed the recipe. It took exactly one hour of non-stop stirring with a whisk to reach a perfect amber color. The time passed quickly. I just chatted with my son while stirring. I used a large Le Creuset pot on medium heat the entire time. I had no sticking at all. We poured it over bananas but this stuff would even make cardboard taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This is really delicious! Wont be making this often because it is frustrating and time consuming. Very yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Amazing! I made this as a special treat for my Argentinian exchange student's 16th birthday. She said it was just like at home! Used it as filling for a layer cake and the rest as a dip for fruit or spread on toast. (Ate a fair amount by the spoonful.) Yes, a little time intensive, but well worth it for a special occasion. I'll make this again at Christmas and give in small jars as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I used condensed evaporated milk in place of the dulce de leche (which I couldn't find) and it worked out great and friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I had some milk that needed to use up and this fit the bill; I was so glad to see a dulce de leche recipe that didn't call for sweetened condensed milk. I cut this down to 8 servings which is about the size of a small container of mayo. I did use half brown and white sugar, and a generous splash of vanilla. This will be awesome with the flan I have planned for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I made this on a whim this morning and it's wonderful - however, the original directions are a bit vague. The suggestion of one reviewer to place a saucer upside down in the pot was fabulous - I didn't have to stand there and it turned out perfectly. I did reduce the proportions to 1/4 of the recipe and it's perfect to fill a layer cake. However, there will not be extra to pick in, and that's a shame!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I made this DAIRY FREE (w/ homemade almond milk) and it was wonderful! Haven't had real dulce de leche in a long time, so I don't know how authentic it was, but I LOVED it! I cut the recipe waaaaay down, and used a splash of vanilla extract, but otherwise followed the directions. It took about 45 minutes of stirring for me. I'm so excited to make this again, to top my incredible pumpkin cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Wow! I cannot believe I actually made real dulce de leche! So tasty and quite easy too, thanks to Marilyn's advice to put a saucer on the bottom of the pot - almost no stirring was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Dulce de Leche

Turn sweetened condensed milk into a delicious caramel sauce.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States