Dulce de Leche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I am from Cuba and the easiest way to make Dulce de Leche is to take a can of condensed milk and put it in a presure cooker cover it with water and cook it for 45 to an 1 hour ( unopened can ) or a big pot put the unopened can cover with water and boil for 2-3 hrs and let coole and enjoy Yummy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshineLory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Wow, this was amazing. It look almost 3 hours on medium heat for a half batch but was so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
this is a good recipe. when they say large saucepan,they mean at least a 12 qt pot. I used an 8qt and It still boiled over. and at a higher altitude (Denver), it took almost 2 hours tp reach the right consistency. I haven't decided if it's worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Thank you soooooo much for this recipe!!! is just perfect. I didn't have vanilla bean so I just used vanilla concentrate. I cooked on medium high heat and it didn't stick on the bottom. I mixed continually at the beginning until the milk did not bubble any more , after that I just stir here and there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was creamy and fantastic. I've never had pure dulce de leche - only dulce de leche ice cream. I had to make some modifications based upon what I had on hand. I used 4 cups heavy cream, 4 cups skim milk, 2 tsp. vanilla extract, 2 1/4 C sugar, and 1/2 tsp. baking soda. Otherwise I followed the recipe. It took exactly one hour of non-stop stirring with a whisk to reach a perfect amber color. The time passed quickly. I just chatted with my son while stirring. I used a large Le Creuset pot on medium heat the entire time. I had no sticking at all. We poured it over bananas but this stuff would even make cardboard taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This is really delicious! Wont be making this often because it is frustrating and time consuming. Very yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Amazing! I made this as a special treat for my Argentinian exchange student's 16th birthday. She said it was just like at home! Used it as filling for a layer cake and the rest as a dip for fruit or spread on toast. (Ate a fair amount by the spoonful.) Yes, a little time intensive, but well worth it for a special occasion. I'll make this again at Christmas and give in small jars as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I used condensed evaporated milk in place of the dulce de leche (which I couldn't find) and it worked out great and friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I had some milk that needed to use up and this fit the bill; I was so glad to see a dulce de leche recipe that didn't call for sweetened condensed milk. I cut this down to 8 servings which is about the size of a small container of mayo. I did use half brown and white sugar, and a generous splash of vanilla. This will be awesome with the flan I have planned for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I made this on a whim this morning and it's wonderful - however, the original directions are a bit vague. The suggestion of one reviewer to place a saucer upside down in the pot was fabulous - I didn't have to stand there and it turned out perfectly. I did reduce the proportions to 1/4 of the recipe and it's perfect to fill a layer cake. However, there will not be extra to pick in, and that's a shame!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Dulce de Leche

Turn sweetened condensed milk into a delicious caramel sauce.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States