Dulce de Leche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I am from Cuba and the easiest way to make Dulce de Leche is to take a can of condensed milk and put it in a presure cooker cover it with water and cook it for 45 to an 1 hour ( unopened can ) or a big pot put the unopened can cover with water and boil for 2-3 hrs and let coole and enjoy Yummy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshineLory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Wow, this was amazing. It look almost 3 hours on medium heat for a half batch but was so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
this is a good recipe. when they say large saucepan,they mean at least a 12 qt pot. I used an 8qt and It still boiled over. and at a higher altitude (Denver), it took almost 2 hours tp reach the right consistency. I haven't decided if it's worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Thank you soooooo much for this recipe!!! is just perfect. I didn't have vanilla bean so I just used vanilla concentrate. I cooked on medium high heat and it didn't stick on the bottom. I mixed continually at the beginning until the milk did not bubble any more , after that I just stir here and there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was creamy and fantastic. I've never had pure dulce de leche - only dulce de leche ice cream. I had to make some modifications based upon what I had on hand. I used 4 cups heavy cream, 4 cups skim milk, 2 tsp. vanilla extract, 2 1/4 C sugar, and 1/2 tsp. baking soda. Otherwise I followed the recipe. It took exactly one hour of non-stop stirring with a whisk to reach a perfect amber color. The time passed quickly. I just chatted with my son while stirring. I used a large Le Creuset pot on medium heat the entire time. I had no sticking at all. We poured it over bananas but this stuff would even make cardboard taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This is really delicious! Wont be making this often because it is frustrating and time consuming. Very yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Amazing! I made this as a special treat for my Argentinian exchange student's 16th birthday. She said it was just like at home! Used it as filling for a layer cake and the rest as a dip for fruit or spread on toast. (Ate a fair amount by the spoonful.) Yes, a little time intensive, but well worth it for a special occasion. I'll make this again at Christmas and give in small jars as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I used condensed evaporated milk in place of the dulce de leche (which I couldn't find) and it worked out great and friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I had some milk that needed to use up and this fit the bill; I was so glad to see a dulce de leche recipe that didn't call for sweetened condensed milk. I cut this down to 8 servings which is about the size of a small container of mayo. I did use half brown and white sugar, and a generous splash of vanilla. This will be awesome with the flan I have planned for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I made this on a whim this morning and it's wonderful - however, the original directions are a bit vague. The suggestion of one reviewer to place a saucer upside down in the pot was fabulous - I didn't have to stand there and it turned out perfectly. I did reduce the proportions to 1/4 of the recipe and it's perfect to fill a layer cake. However, there will not be extra to pick in, and that's a shame!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Dulce de Leche

Turn sweetened condensed milk into a delicious caramel sauce.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States