Dulce de Leche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This is a superb recipe. I have been using it for 10 years. Start by making it with 1 quart (4 c.) of milk as a test. It requires A LOT of patience. If you don't have time or patience, boil a can of sweetened condensed milk. Straining through the cheesecloth is not required but creates a lovely smooth result. I use vanilla extract instead of the bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brisa1355

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I am going to try this because I've looked for it with no luck and need this for a Sweet Potato recipe. I'm sure it will be fine. Thanks a lot for having the recipe in your possession.What a lifesaver you are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Modifications are necessary as stated in other reviews to create a perfect dulce de leche. I made a lighter and smaller version of this recipe. I used 4 cups of nonfat Lactaid milk, 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract, a little under 1 cup of sugar, and 1/4 of a teaspoon of baking soda. At first, I was skeptical like some of the reviewers that I would ever get dulce de leche out of this mixture and would just end up with hot milk. I figured that by using nonfat milk, I had altered the recipe too much. However, once I followed the suggestions of others and raised the heat higher than medium after adding the baking soda, the mixture began to turn into dulce de leche. In order for this recipe to work, you must use a higher heat during the last cooking phase and not medium like this recipe states. To avoid burning the mixture, you will need to stir it constantly. Nonfat milk and Lactaid milk (for those who are lactose intolerant) definitely works so if you are looking for a lighter option, you can absolutely make that substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Boy, did I make a mess with this! My attempt got hard and unwieldy very quickly. I cannot blame it on the recipe, however. Must be the cook! I was chipping dulce de leche off everthing in sight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
YUMMY!!! i am from a small island in the medittearanean sea and i have never tasted Dulce de leche but when i tried this recipe it tasted amazing. I found it very easy to make. The steps are very simple and clear and if you have a bit of patience it is worth it.I didnt need such a big quantity so i took the advise of other reviewers and decreased the amount to 4 cups of milk, 1 cup sugar, 1 tsp of vanila essense and 1/4 tsp baking soda. It took me about one hour and fifteen minutes of constant stiring and it was worth it. i served it as a sauce on top of chocolate cake and everybody loved it. Thank you very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
VERY VERY SWEET! But it took over 5 HOURS! I mean it is delicious but it really was VERY time consuming. There had to be an easier way to do this! Try other websites for less vague directons. I was stirring for over 5 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I followed the recipe to a T and ended up with warm, sweet, vanilla milk. I had to scrap the entire batch. I tried the recipe twice and neither time did it work, even with the suggestions from other users.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I followed the measurements and proportions from previous reviewer vane, as I didn't have a full gallon of milk to spare, and this worked perfectly. Instead of watching the clock, I periodically checked the temperature of the mixture as I stirred and it boiled. When it was more difficult to keep my candy thermometer from accidentally touching the bottom of the pan, I knew I was getting somewhere. The mixture started to thicken and get frothy right around 200 degrees and from there I just watched and stirred every 15-30 seconds as it thickened and darkened in caramel color. I'm so glad this worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I am from Cuba and the easiest way to make Dulce de Leche is to take a can of condensed milk and put it in a presure cooker cover it with water and cook it for 45 to an 1 hour ( unopened can ) or a big pot put the unopened can cover with water and boil for 2-3 hrs and let coole and enjoy Yummy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshineLory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Wow, this was amazing. It look almost 3 hours on medium heat for a half batch but was so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Dulce de Leche

Turn sweetened condensed milk into a delicious caramel sauce.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States