Dulce de Leche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Great recipe for authentic dulce de leche! Be sure to use a wide, deep saucepan that will allow the milk to bubble and foam a bit. I kept the mixture at a steady simmer-almost-boil the whole time, and it was ready in about 45 minutes. Also, the recipe should note that the dulce de leche is ready when a spoon leaves a path in the bottom of the pan that disappears after a second or two. Any longer and the dulce de leche will be too stiff after it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
This recipe works! It takes quite a lot of time but the end result is great dulce de leche, even better than store bought. I used only 1 liter of milk and scaled everything else down and I had to cook and stir it for about 40 minutes. This amount of milk made one jar of dulce de leche. The trick is to keep the heat high and just keep stirring (that will prevent the milk from boiling over). I didn't strain the milk because I didn't have a cheesecloth and it still worked out just fine. I'm already looking forward to make pancakes tomorrow - they are so good with dulce de leche. Thank you, Juliana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aachen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Bremen, Bremen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
My arm is about to fall off. It has been way longer than an hour of cooking. It’s now been 3 1/2 hours. the voluom has lowered about 1 1/2in but still not thick. I am still going to try and finish this, but if I knew that it would take this long I would have never started it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Alright, for all the non-believers out there...I promise, this recipe really does work, and with a little time and a lot of patience, you WILL have beautiful, thick, caramel-y dulce de leche. I altered this recipe a tiny bit (I didn't use a whole gallon of milk, and lessened the amounts of the rest of the ingredients accordingly. When I was about 30 minutes into the final stage (stirring, stirring, stirring), and still just had hot vanilla milk, I too was quite discouraged. I tried playing around with the heat a little, and finally found that keeping it on high heat (it will constantly attempt to boil and foam over--just keep stirring) did the trick. After about 2 hours total (roughly an hour and a half of the final stirring stage), I couldn't believe my eyes when it FINALLY turned the promised golden brown, and thickened beautifully. All in all, the "milk jam" takes about 2 hours, more or less, of your time--and is well worth the wait. Stick it out! You won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
this is a great recipe for REAL manjar or dulce de leche, you can also make it by boiling an unopened can of condensed milk (be careful as it can explode if left unattended and the water evaporates) but this recipe is the more elaborate one for dulce de leche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Viña Del Mar, Valparaíso, Chile
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
I want to make this recipe. Does it matter what kind of milk I use? (2%, skim, whole?) Thanks for your help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
Previous reviewers' frustration with this recipe is probably the fault of a certain vagueness in the directions. Dulce de leche is essentially a jelly based on milk instead of fruit juice; the liquid needs to be reduced to about half its original volume. It will foam up considerably when first reaching an active simmer, and again when the baking soda is added. After that, it will be relatively well-behaved for a while and the heat can be turned up, though constant stirring will still be needed to keep the bottom from burning. When it's nearly ready, it will suddenly get very foamy again (if you have a jelly/deepfry thermometer, this will be at about 220 F). After that, you can keep testing small samples on a chilled plate to see how much it stiffens up; if you evaporate it too far down, you may end up with something more like soft fudge-- still perfectly edible, but perhaps not what you had in mind. I'm not sure why this recipe suggests chilling the dulce de leche *before* placing in jelly jars, which seems like an invitation for trouble of various kinds. For a start, it's much easier to scrape it out when it's still hot. One last cleanup note-- instead of tossing the sticky pot into the sink to soak off the caramel you couldn't scrape out, pour a bit of plain milk into it and gently reheat it on the stove while stirring. Hey presto: caramel-sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
This recipie results in a good tasting product however, it takes an extrememly long time to make (for me it was 4 1/2 hours)but worth the effort to get the traditional flavour (as opposed to the sweetened condensed milk version). This recipie made about 3 cups of dulce de leche. Vanilla extract may be used in place of the vanilla bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
Sorry Juliana, this was a total waste of time, ingredients and money. My son and I looked high and low for a recipe for his 6th grade spanish class project. We worked on this for nearly four hours one night and it never turned into anything but hot, vanilla milk. It never thickened even after we added tapioca (after three hours of total frustration). We wasted an entire gallon of milk (whole, because nothing was specified), cheesecloth, and a costly vanilla bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
This recipe is not easy to make. (I needed 32 servings. No mention of what a serving size is nor how long the overall preparation and cooking time is. I stirred the mixture for over 1/2 hour at the last stage and NO thickening occurred. It never did occur for the following 1/2 hour. It sounds delicious, but I never got there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Dulce de Leche

Turn sweetened condensed milk into a delicious caramel sauce.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States