Dulce de Leche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and this came out great. It would have to be a very special occasion for me to make this again. I stirred for over 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
mine turned out very clumpy. perhaps, as my argentine wife warned, i had to stir constantly, which i didn't. she did say that this is one of those things more worth just buying than making as the milk ('artisinal' milk i bought from a local farm at nearly $5 a quart) was pricey, and the work was long. i didnt stir enough, my bad. i guess the argentines have even learned that its easier to buy than to make unless you've very dedicated for 3+ hours. i will say that i had goat's milk d.d.l. in the north of argentina that was very good (gamey of course). so you might try this as its slightly different, and something you cannot just buy in the states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
excellent... i cut the recipe down to 4 cups skim milk etc... took only about half hour... i love it. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by malenloves2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This is a very good recipe. I'm from Uruguay, (wich is like almost Argentina) and I grew up with this, ok, probably I wouldn't make the whole gallon, but the proportion is 1 cup of sugar for every 1 litre of milk, and 1/4 tea spoon of baking soda. I use to omit the cloth and ice bath process and still works perfect. and is soooo yummy! try-it as a filling for chocolate cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malenloves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
My daughter-in-law is from Argentina and taught me how to make this. She uses skim milk and splenda for half the sugar in the recipe. Instead of standing over the pot and stirring, she places a saucer upside down in the bottom of the pot. As the milk heats up, the saucer starts rocking and stirs the milk. She lets it simmer away without stirring for a few hours and it's delicious! Use it for a dipping sauce on bananas or any fruit, cake, ice cream. Unfortunately, it disappears by the spoonful eaten right from the storage jar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jalejandrof
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I tried this basic recipe and it came out great. I think that it's almost foolproof as long as you keep stirring the milk and making sure it does not overcook. I also only made the dulce de leche with 1 liter of milk (4 cups), 1 cup of sugar and a bit of vanilla extract. It took about 45 minutes from start to finish. I also added some chamille floewers (you can find them in the spices section) to give it something extra. By the way I also made a fat-free, sugar free version using non-fat milk and Splenda; although it's not as fullfilling as the original it still taste pretty darn good for those of use on a diet. Try it on some vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Pedro Sula, Cortés, Honduras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This was a fun recipe because it made me feel like I was doing a science project or something. It's cool that all this happens just from milk! I changed the recipe and just made it from 2 c. of milk and it probably reduced to a little over 1 c. of dulce just perfect for a middle layer on a cake. I added vanilla extract after I took it off the heat. I didn't think the ice bath was necessary b/c it made the dulce harden too fast. Super yummy and easy. Only took about 40 min. I stirred occassionally in the beginning and then when it started to brown, I would stir and come back every min. or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jelmelt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I just finished this recipe, and it is AMAZING!! I am a caramel FREAK (Yes, I know Dulce isn't the same, but it may as well be to my taste buds!), and this is my first time trying to make anything like this. I followed the previous reviewer's variation: 4 Cups 2% milk, 1 Cup sugar, 1/4 tsp vanilla extract, and 1/4 tsp baking soda. I didn't have a problem with the sugar caramelizing over medium heat... I'm thinking it is probably because I have 'gormet' copper bottomed stainless steel pots. The whole process only took me an hour from measuring my milk to ending up with my dulce de leche topping for the cheesecake that's in my oven. Tastes awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Delicious...on EVERYTHING! If you are a sweet toothe that is. A simple recipe to follow, my only suggestion is to TURN UP THE HEAT! 45 minutes of stirring, on Med., with no results. 15 minutes on the precarious verge of boiling? Dulce de leche. Thanks for this tasty treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
I loved this recipe. I actually made less by using 4 cups milk, 1 cup white sugar, 1/4 teaspoon baking soda and 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract. It was done in 35 minutes. I had it on medium-high the entire time and ended up transferring it to a larger pan in the middle of it since it kept wanting to overflow. I did beat "vigorously" the entire time, my husband helped for a few minutes and it was done! At 20 minutes, it started turning slightly light brown and was heavier in consistency, I chose to leave it longer because I like it thick but you can probably turn it off as soon as it starts to get thick and brown if you want it runnier. I am argentinian and grew up on this so I'm thrilled to have this recipe. I made swedish pancakes that are so easy and put the dulce de leche inside...yummmmmmy! For the swedish-like pancake recipe put everything in blender together: 3 eggs 2 cups milk 1 1/2 cup flour 3 Tbs sugar 2 Tbs oil 1 tsp salt Blend completely in blender. Fry very thin in hot frying pan coated with oil. Turn once, they should be lightly brown on both sides. Put a coat of dulde de leche and then roll them up. I like to add powdered sugar on top for presentation. Everyone will be impressed, these are delicious! Enjoy! (the swedish pancakes make about 24 pancakes, I cut this recipe in half to match the amount of dulce de leche made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Dulce de Leche

Turn sweetened condensed milk into a delicious caramel sauce.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States