Dulce de Leche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I made this DAIRY FREE (w/ homemade almond milk) and it was wonderful! Haven't had real dulce de leche in a long time, so I don't know how authentic it was, but I LOVED it! I cut the recipe waaaaay down, and used a splash of vanilla extract, but otherwise followed the directions. It took about 45 minutes of stirring for me. I'm so excited to make this again, to top my incredible pumpkin cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Wow! I cannot believe I actually made real dulce de leche! So tasty and quite easy too, thanks to Marilyn's advice to put a saucer on the bottom of the pot - almost no stirring was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I saw that some one spent a lot of time and money on this recipe and said it didn't work. I make this recipe and it took AGES because I used very low heat - almost 6 hours or so. I have since made it using higher heat and it did not take as long. If you are using very low heat, it WILL work, but it will take a while. Try making 1/2 the recipe to see if you like it - or even 1/4 recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I had great success making this recipe. I did cut it into 1/4. I used skim milk and a deep heavy pan. I cooked it at a rolling boil stirring vigorously. It was very thick when it was done and would be delicious even thinner on cake or sweet bread. I will just have to take it off sooner. I did eliminate the ice bath and it set up just fine. I took about 1/2 and hour from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLSQUIRES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Very time consuming BUT delicious! I literally needed to use up a gallon milk and this was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Much easier way to make this recipe is just to pour a can of sweetened condensed milk into a canning jar with a lid, no other ingredients, then set the jar in a simmering pot of water for 2-2 1/2 hours. Just make sure the water level stays at least where the milk level in the jar is. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cozad, Nebraska, USA
Living In: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Thank you for the wonderful recipe. I had a ton of fun making this! I halved the recipe and it took about 45 minutes just over medium. I think I may have over-stirred the mixture though because it had a lot of little bubbles in it. It didn't affect the taste though! Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This is absolutely delicious, I was worried it wouldn't thicken then all of the sudden it changed a beautiful gold colour and began to thicken to a perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Great recipe! After a long time of stirring i was about to become frustrated because it wasn't thickening, but I kept my patience. I turned the heat up a little bit and I just kept stirring! I think stirring is the key! I also substituted the bean for vanilla extract. It worked out just as well. We were very pleased with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keanu
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I first made dulce de leche in high school as a Spanish 3 project. We were told to use 2cups sugar and one cup milk as the ratio and plan on spending the evening stirring the pot and reading our English book for the week. I've mad it ever since as it is indeed addictive. It does take 2-3 hours from start to finish but is worth it. I bought various brands while in Spain on vacation and they did differ slightly. I'm going to have to try this with the baking soda and see if its any different. It makes a wonderful gift for anyone with a sweet tooth. Also wonderful added to hot apple cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Watts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eliot, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Dulce de Leche

Turn sweetened condensed milk into a delicious caramel sauce.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States