Dukkah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Did not find this addictive at all, nobody did, and we love different, interesting food. It was the only thing that didnt get eaten up at a party full of tipsy hungry people. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staci mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This just did not work out for my husband & I. For all the trouble I went through to make it and hazelnuts are expensive here, he tasted it and said "hmm, yum, zatar." (zatar is a simple lebanese dish of thyme, sesame, sumac...etc.) Zatar is nothing impressive to a Lebanese person, LOL so any dish that he thinks is zatar & has expensive ingredients is not worth my effort or money. It saves well however, I had it for so long then took it to Lebanon to let my mother-in-law try my "home-made zatar"!! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hasan'sCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Tasty dry dip. I first came across Dukkah at a farmers market - then on a work project (used to work for a food consultant). I added a touch more salt (was using kosher salt) and stored the batch in the fridge. Tastes best after being stored for a day when the flavours have been allowed to mingle a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I must have done something wrong. This spice came out terribly. I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This stuff is amazing! I had to bring something to a dinner party honoring some young professional guests from Egypt, and this is the recipe I chose. It was confirmed "authentic" by the guests. (One gal said it was considered very healthy.) I made a double batch and brought home the portion that was left -- it stayed fresh for a couple months in a plastic airtight container. Hubby and I like it so much we had to make a new batch after it ran out! TRY THIS: Cut some fresh salmon into strips about 1" thick. Coat the salmon with dukkah and sauté in butter. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
My Egyptian husband didn't know what I was talking about when i told him about "dukkah" and described the recipe. After he smelled the spice mixed, he did suddenly recognize it as something he grew up sprinking over his eggs. It's pronounced "da'a" since Egyptians leave the k silent. Anyway, I personally hate black pepper and cumin so I'm not a big fan of this stuff, but it makes hubby happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Great taste, added 1/2 pepper like some other reviewers suggested. LOVE IT! I served this to some friends they ALL want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gallus Gurl
Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Very good. I did not use as much black pepper and am glad I didn't. I also used ground coriander and cumin because I had it on hand and didn't want to spend the money on seeds unless I really liked it. Next time I'll try it with the seeds and I bet I will like it even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is a great recipe - everyone LOVED it. I had to make a few changes because I couldn't find cumin or coriander seeds - so I used coriander flakes and cumin powder. I also used 1/2 almonds, 1/2 hazelnuts. I don't know what the original recipe was meant to taste like but it was wonderful with my changes. Also, we like to dip the bread in balsamic vinegar and olive oil - its a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lian W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Crispy Mystery Semolina Noodles

See how to make crispy “french fries” from semolina noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States