Duck with Honey, Soy, and Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Griffin10
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
A very nice recipe - sort of Asian fusion, I'd say. It does take a bit of prep, but the sauce is especially good. The recipe was bit unclear as to how long to bake in the oven (for those of us without a meat thermometer). I checked mine at 10 min and it was VERY rare, but at 20 when I took it out it was pretty well done. I'll probably go with 15-18 minutes in the future. I also did add just a pinch of flour to help the sauce thicken up. Served with risotto cooked in toasted sesame oil, and it was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Griffin10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Quick and VERY savory dish. Great paired with garlic mashed potatoes and fresh peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zitaskitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I agree with other reviews. The sauce is a bit salty, I would cut the soy sauce in half. Overall, it is a tasty duck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I don't think it was too salty. It was quite good, not self-thickening though, which was fine. And the person who said it was tough from being overdone using less time, probably undercooked it. I've found duck needs to be done at least close to medium to be tender. But it depends on the thickness. My close to one inch thick breast took a good 30 minutes. And I assumed the honey went in the sauce, even though the recipe left out where to put it. Was enjoyed with garlic mash and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Very good. We followed everything but instead of flipping the duck when in the sauce pan, you should use the rendered duck fat and constantly pour over the top of the duck breast to cook the top.. this is the best way to get a tender breast with the juices trapped in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I made this for dinner last night, and it was a big hit with my family. None of us had ever had duck before, and instead of using the breast, we had legs. Even with the tough meat of the legs, the end result was still a very delicious, tender meal. I served it with parsley potatoes and a spinach salad. I reccomend serving this with bread, so you can soak up some of the delicious sauce. Also, some other reviewers commented that the sauce was too salty. I guess you could say that it was rather salty, but I did not feel that it was too salty. I think that it would be easy to adjust the ingredients; maybe a little bit less rice wine? Anyway, I highly reccomend this recipe. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I alternated the duck with the chicken and it turned out great! The sauce was smooth and blended well with the chicken. Not sure where on the recipe to use the honey as it's not in the directions. Served this with roasted potatoes and veggies along with a spinach salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
The duck itself was quite time consuming to prepare, but the sauce was amazing! I can see this working with chicken or pork, any kind of meat really. I served this with roasted potatoes and parsnips and steamed green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I found the sauce for this very salty and it didn't thicken on its own, I had to add cornstarch. Next time I will try reducing the soy sauce and vinegar to 1tbsp each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brisbois_c
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Great recipe! I halved the amount of soya sauce because I made chicken stock using a chicken cube, and found it wasn't enough. I made it 1 1/2 tablespoon instead and it was perfect. The two pieces of duck breast I used were of different sizes. Since I like my duck well-done with just a hint of pink while my husband likes his medium, I put the duck breasts in the oven for about 17 minutes and both came out the way we wanted it. I got the sauce together a couple of hours before cooking and sieved the sauce before boiling it in the pan. This way, the ginger had time to soak and it is ideal for those who find biting into grated ginger a little too overwhelming. My husband absolutely loved this duck dish and couldn't stop saying how much he loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brisbois_c

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Duck Fesenjan

See how to make a savory stew featuring duck, pomegranate, and walnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States