Duck with Honey, Soy, and Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Quick and VERY savory dish. Great paired with garlic mashed potatoes and fresh peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zitaskitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I alternated the duck with the chicken and it turned out great! The sauce was smooth and blended well with the chicken. Not sure where on the recipe to use the honey as it's not in the directions. Served this with roasted potatoes and veggies along with a spinach salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I found the sauce for this very salty and it didn't thicken on its own, I had to add cornstarch. Next time I will try reducing the soy sauce and vinegar to 1tbsp each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
WONDERFUL! Followed recipe as is - did have to pop our duck breasts back in the oven for about 10 more minutes for a more well done breast - still had some light pink. The sauce was wonderful with the duck, and it really wasn't greasy or anything. Fabulous job! Tasty and enjoyed by both my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephMHess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was a very easy and delicious recipe. It was very yummy. I made it for Thanksgiving and it was a great hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I made this for dinner last night, and it was a big hit with my family. None of us had ever had duck before, and instead of using the breast, we had legs. Even with the tough meat of the legs, the end result was still a very delicious, tender meal. I served it with parsley potatoes and a spinach salad. I reccomend serving this with bread, so you can soak up some of the delicious sauce. Also, some other reviewers commented that the sauce was too salty. I guess you could say that it was rather salty, but I did not feel that it was too salty. I think that it would be easy to adjust the ingredients; maybe a little bit less rice wine? Anyway, I highly reccomend this recipe. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
eveybody loved it!i used white wine instead og rice wine and lemon instead of lime. I do not use stock so I just put water. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
We thought this was good the sauce was a great compliment to the duck. The only thing I didn't like was the duck was overcooked and a little tough and I cooked it for less time then the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I agree with other reviews. The sauce is a bit salty, I would cut the soy sauce in half. Overall, it is a tasty duck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
The duck itself was quite time consuming to prepare, but the sauce was amazing! I can see this working with chicken or pork, any kind of meat really. I served this with roasted potatoes and parsnips and steamed green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States