Duck and Fontina Pizza With Rosemary and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Huuuge hit at our house tonight. I've never seen "spreadable" goat cheese, so I took a regular log and mashed it with a bit of sour cream until it was smooth and spreadable. Great combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gremlinhill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Outstanding. For a truly decadent version, cook the duck breast first and save the rendered fat. Slice a potato thinly and drizzle the duck fat over the slices before roasting them in the oven. Add the roast potato slices as another layer of the pizza. I also used goat cheese which had honey added. Really, great fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This is unbelievably good! Even my picky eater requests this on a weekly basis! I did tweak the recipe. I used the duck fat and the same pan with 1/2 the oil to cook the onions. This flavors the onions and adds another level of flavor. Cook the onions but salt and pepper to taste and add 1/2 teaspoon of minced or smashed garlic. When the onions are lightly browned, add 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar and another tablespoon of honey, reduce until the liquid is almost gone and very syrupy to make a balsamic reduction. Tastes just like the fancy flatbreads you get a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmlvy75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
We love this! I use Pizza Dough II from this site and bake at 500 on a pizza stone. Also I use cooked chicken instead of duck. Try it, it's different and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaMock

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This recipe is amazing. I have never eaten duck, so I substituted chicken. I have made it three times so far, and will keep making it. Everyone that has tried it has loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I totally LOVED the flavors of the fontina, duck, sweet onions and rosemary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
The first bite was delicious, but after a few more bites, the richness became so ovewhelming that my husband and I both put it down and couldn't eat any more. Since I only used 4 ozs of the goat cheese, I can't imagine this pizza with all 8 ozs! I took one reviewer's advice to add some potatoes roasted in a drizzle of the duck fat... the potatoes alone were yummy, but they got lost in the richness of the pizza. I really wanted to love this dish; this recipe has the components of a really great gourmet pizza. I will try it again, though, either drastically cutting back on the goat cheese or even eliminating it altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Love, love, love this! I have been looking for a recipe like this every since I had it as an appetizer in a gourmet restaurant. This was just like it except they had thinly sliced grilled/roasted potatoes on theirs so I added that. PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Lewiston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This wasnt terrible but I didnt really enjoy the combo of goat cheese and duck together. I did however LOVE the caramelized onions with a bit of honey and the fontina cheese with the duck. I believe I will make this again however I will look for a different base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Delicious! One of my favorite recipes from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States