Duck Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
A beautiful dish! I used a Dutch oven to cook this, as is customary with most cassoulets. It worked wonderfully! I also added bread crumbs and agree, they are worth the extra few minutes in the oven. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I used liquid from cooked beans, some beef stock and white wine rather than water. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Amazing! I made this in the crock pot (1 hour on high then slow the remaining 5 hours) I followed the recipe to A t. The cloves really give a special flavour. Yum! I had to strain the meat out as it is watery in the crock pot. I am thinking that in the oven thee would be less liquid and it would be thicker. I will try the oven next time. Great french dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
outstanding dish. I was concerned about the other reviewers comments regarding too much liquid, so I cooked in the oven in a dutch oven - all day. I also used beef broth to cover rather than water. By the end of the day the bacon had mostly fallen apart into the dish, but that was fine. I used duck/pork sausage along with duck breast and it was perfect. I will make this again. I served it with a wonderful California Cabernet and they went together very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Captures the flavors of true cassoulet without the hassel of making it the authetic way. I used tomato paste instead of a fresh tomato to get closer to authetic flavor. Do take the time to put it in the oven with the bread crumbs, it really gives the dish a beautiful finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
it doesnt say the time it takes if i want it to cook it in the oven? does anybody knows how many hours and what temp. thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
To the cook who asked about cooking it in the oven, yes, you can. The "high" setting usually corresponds to 300F, and the "low" setting is usually around 200F. Use the same cooking times as in the recipe. HTH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gremlinhill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I am wondering wondering whether this picture is of another recipe. Found this a bit watery and flavours did not meld as in traditionally prepared dish. I would cook it at a much lower temperature, around 140C than the earlier reviewer, for a more traditional result, for about 4 hours, and the addition of keilbasa makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I had roast duckling for New Year's eve, and I wanted to use the leftover duck. I chose this recipe as a base, but I used a dutch oven and cooked it 1 hr at 450 and then 4 hrs at 300. Also, I used the quick soak method for preparing the beans -- put them in boiling water, shut off heat & leave them an hour, or longer, like 2, till they double in size. I read a lot about cassoulet, which I'd never made before. Julia says the flavor of the liquid is the key. (Everything else, especially beans, absorbs it). So I used my duck carcass and two turkey thigh bones, plus carrots, celery & onion (studded w/ clove) to make a broth while the beans were soaking. My duck, when fat cut off etc, was only 5 oz, so I used 2 turkey thighs, skinned, boned, & cut up, to make up. I used Kielbasa. I'm not sure I like the extra spice, but my son did. Next time, rather than just slicing, I'd slice & half the slices, so the spicey bites were smaller. I realized half way through that I didn't have anything for salad, so I took out the very studded onion (odd, that) and replaced it with cut up celery, onion & 2 more carrots. I also increased to 2 tomatoes at end. I highly recommend making a broth of something & using it instead of water. You could use turkey, chicken, goose, duck, pheasant, or whatever. The important thing is to be sure the broth is good, since everything else takes on the flavor. Don't know how this would work in a slow cooker, but mine got done in about 7 hours, total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I made this in a stovetop and simplified as follows: instead of fresh, I used dried thyme, parsley and onion flakes. I only added one clove mixed three kinds of beans: black, white, pinto and kidney mixed three kinds of sausage: italian, spicy cajun, bratwurst I did not remove bacon rolls, which I had also alternatively fastened with a toothpick instead of string Skipped the duck altogether Added some extra salt and pepper On the stovetop it cooked in about 2 to 2.5 hours. the family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Cassoulet

A classic white bean casserole with bacon, sausage, and duck confit.

Chef John's Quick Cassoulet

In this video, you’ll see how to make cassoulet in just an hour.

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States