Duck Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Captures the flavors of true cassoulet without the hassel of making it the authetic way. I used tomato paste instead of a fresh tomato to get closer to authetic flavor. Do take the time to put it in the oven with the bread crumbs, it really gives the dish a beautiful finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
A beautiful dish! I used a Dutch oven to cook this, as is customary with most cassoulets. It worked wonderfully! I also added bread crumbs and agree, they are worth the extra few minutes in the oven. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
it doesnt say the time it takes if i want it to cook it in the oven? does anybody knows how many hours and what temp. thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
To the cook who asked about cooking it in the oven, yes, you can. The "high" setting usually corresponds to 300F, and the "low" setting is usually around 200F. Use the same cooking times as in the recipe. HTH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gremlinhill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Something went way wrong here. This cassoulet was not good. The water never cooked off in the crock pot and consequently all flavour from the bacon, sausages, etc. was washed out. Really unfortunate and expensive dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I am wondering wondering whether this picture is of another recipe. Found this a bit watery and flavours did not meld as in traditionally prepared dish. I would cook it at a much lower temperature, around 140C than the earlier reviewer, for a more traditional result, for about 4 hours, and the addition of keilbasa makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I had roast duckling for New Year's eve, and I wanted to use the leftover duck. I chose this recipe as a base, but I used a dutch oven and cooked it 1 hr at 450 and then 4 hrs at 300. Also, I used the quick soak method for preparing the beans -- put them in boiling water, shut off heat & leave them an hour, or longer, like 2, till they double in size. I read a lot about cassoulet, which I'd never made before. Julia says the flavor of the liquid is the key. (Everything else, especially beans, absorbs it). So I used my duck carcass and two turkey thigh bones, plus carrots, celery & onion (studded w/ clove) to make a broth while the beans were soaking. My duck, when fat cut off etc, was only 5 oz, so I used 2 turkey thighs, skinned, boned, & cut up, to make up. I used Kielbasa. I'm not sure I like the extra spice, but my son did. Next time, rather than just slicing, I'd slice & half the slices, so the spicey bites were smaller. I realized half way through that I didn't have anything for salad, so I took out the very studded onion (odd, that) and replaced it with cut up celery, onion & 2 more carrots. I also increased to 2 tomatoes at end. I highly recommend making a broth of something & using it instead of water. You could use turkey, chicken, goose, duck, pheasant, or whatever. The important thing is to be sure the broth is good, since everything else takes on the flavor. Don't know how this would work in a slow cooker, but mine got done in about 7 hours, total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I used liquid from cooked beans, some beef stock and white wine rather than water. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Amazing! I made this in the crock pot (1 hour on high then slow the remaining 5 hours) I followed the recipe to A t. The cloves really give a special flavour. Yum! I had to strain the meat out as it is watery in the crock pot. I am thinking that in the oven thee would be less liquid and it would be thicker. I will try the oven next time. Great french dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Thank you Syd for sharing your recipe. It was nice to come home to smell of cassoulet! As other reviewers had stated, it is a bit watery but I was not expecting miracles from my crockpot (its old and well loved). So I decided when finishing off with bread crumbs in the oven. I would put it in for about an hour at 325, then top with the breadcrumbs and stick the oven on broil to toast them up quickly. It worked out well. Next time, I may try using goose breast and vension sausage (as my husband is a hunter, so we have these lying around) and use tomato paste rather than a whole tomato. Lastly as other reviewers had mentioned, a mixture of chicken and beef stock as well as red wine would make a nice broth instead of just water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cassoulet

A classic white bean casserole with bacon, sausage, and duck confit.

Chef John's Quick Cassoulet

In this video, you’ll see how to make cassoulet in just an hour.

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States